SMAC announces all-league team

Nov. 30, 2012 @ 08:07 AM


With all seven South Mountain Athletic Conference football teams eliminated from the state playoffs, the conference released its individual honors and all-league team that included 15 players from Rutherford County.

Freedom running back David Burgess as Offensive Player of the Year and Burns High  defensive lineman Damerrian Petty was named Defensive Player of the Year.

East Rutherford’s Harrison Wilkerson was honored as the SMAC’s Kicker of the Year.

The SMAC all-league team (with positions included for Rutherford County selections):

Burns - Gilbert Brooks, Travon Hunt, Josh Ramseur, Damerrian Pett, Tylan Ruff, Grayson Gee, Sa’Darius Byers, Quintel Houser, Diamonte Hall, Chris Montgomery

Freedom - James Caldwell, Cameron Storie, David Burgess, Shawn Fairchild, Davey Newton, Khris Gardin, Chris Bridges, DC Corpening, Javiarous Bennett

Shelby - Kris Evans, Markise Walton, Garrion Addison, Raekwon Washington, Wesley Hillman, Erik McCauley, Carlos Marion

East Rutherford - Jaman Edgerton (RB/DB), Lovell Robinson (RB/WR), TJ Watkins (QB), Brock Helton (LB), Jordan Strickland (DL), Jabbari Cash (LB)

Chase - Tyran Hunt (LB), Cody Greene (LB), Shevon Logan (DL), Tray Watkins (DL), Jordan O’Rourke (WR/RB/DB)

Patton - Jared Harbison, Hayden Caraway, Devin Mosteller, Tyler Bias

R-S Central - Jaried Foster Smith (DL), Devante Austin (RB/DB), AJ Greer (TE)

Rutherford County also had six honorable mention selections:

East Rutherford - Harrison Wilkerson (K), Donlad Wilkins (WR), Cody Hall (WR/DB)

Chase - Josh Wright (RB), Mike Helton (LB)

RS Central - Michael Murphy (OL)