Hilltoppers meet Burns on the mats

Jan. 11, 2013 @ 08:02 AM

It came down to the final two matches as R-S Central and Burns were deadlocked at 30 points apiece, but the Bulldogs claimed the last two matches to defeat the Hilltoppers, 39-30, Thursday night at Central.

It was frustrating since we were out two starters tonight. Those were two matches that could have changed the outcome," said Central head coach Rich Cox. "At least you know then you gave them your full effort."

Cox admits that Burns may have been better than his Hilltoppers but doesn't fault the effort of his wrestlers.

"I'm proud of my kids. We've been focusing all week on effort and tonight the showed a lot of it," Cox said." No kid on my team quit, backed down or didn't go as hard as we could go. We got beat by kids that are better but none of them quit."

The Hilltoppers earned individual wins from Tyler Lowery, Kaleb Hines, Austin Neal, DJ Bradley, Colin Cope, and Caleb Cox.

I was really proud of Caleb Cox. He's a freshman who beat a senior and just wrestled a really good match," Cox said after the match. "DJ Bradley also beat a kid that beat him last year. He wrestled well and did what he needed to do."

Central returns to action today as they travel to Shelby.


Match summary:

170    Tyler Lowery (RS) won by pin over Jules Bruchard (Burns)  

182    Unknown (Unknown) vs. Unknown (Unknown)  

195    Nathan Wray (Burns) won by pin over Quincy Edwards (RS)   

220    Kaleb Hines (RS) won by pin over Grayson McKee (Burns)   

285    Nick Costigan (Burns) won by pin over Hunter Edwards (RS)   

106    Austin Neal (RS) won by forfeit over Unknown (Unattached) .      

113    Caleb Cox (RS) won by decision over Brandon Shull (Burns)   

120    Dennis Bradley (RS) won by decision over Brandon Crider (Burns)

126    Tyler Moses (Burns) won by pin over Brandon Parz (RS)

132    Colin Cope (RS) won by pin over Trevor Rippy (Burns)     

138    Gavin Mode (Burns) won by pin over Christian Gold (RS)

145    Dylan Millson (Burns) won by pin over Zachary Weeks (RS)    

152    Gilbert Brooks (Burns) won by pin over Robert Talbert (RS)    

160    James Smith (Burns) won by decision over Thomas Hensley (RS)