Trojans claim second place

Jan. 01, 2013 @ 05:33 AM

CHERRYVILLE — After claiming a 92-85 win over Cherryville in the semifinals of the Bud Black/Dennis Tate Holiday Classic, Chase lost to Besemer City 64-43 in the championship game Saturday night in Cherryville.

“We played tough. I’m really proud of them for making it as far as we did,” said Chase head coach Joe Jessen. “I think we had a pretty good tournament. We came home with a second-place trophy and that isn’t too bad. I thought he played a very smart tournament. “

Bessemer City led 25-20 at the break and started pulling away in the third quarter, taking a 45-32 lead into the final period.

“The game was a lot closer than the score shows,” said Jessen. “We kind of lost our composure towards the end. We were down seven towards the end of the third quarter but we had some calls go against us and kind of lost our composure. From that point on it was

See Trojans/Page B2


Steven Holland scored 14 points and Shad Blanton added 10 points for Chase (8-4).

Chase placed three players on the All-tournament team with Blanton, Holland and Ryan Simpson.

“[Simpson] didn’t score a lot of points but he just made a lot of good decisions on the court,” said Jessen, “He was the one that helped us stay in control when things got a little haywire.”

Jessen hopes his Trojans carry this momentum into conference play.

“We’ve got a tough schedule ahead of us now,” said Jessen. “We have got to get better at practice, that’s the key now to playing better. Of course we’re going to lose a few games but my goal is for them to get better every day and maybe surprise some teams.”

Chase returns to action Friday, Jan. 4 when they travel to Burns.

All-tournament teams


Co-MVPs— Brad James and Michael Meeks, Bessemer City

Bessemer City— Tyrece Meeks, Jha’Qui Adams, Trevon Oglesby, Ronnie Webber

Chase — Ryan Simpson, Steven Holland, Shad Blanton

Cherryville — Rhyer Davis, Nick Corbett, Kenny Poston

Castlewood — Reid Edmonds, Dylan Trent

AustraliaA — Mitch Medwin, Brett McAuley

Thomas Jefferson — Justus Freeland, Nick Mintz

South Point — Deonte Gaston, John Chavis

AustraliaB— Riley Henderson, Brad Potter


MVP— Ashley Mull, South Point

South Point — Ashley Mull, Haley Stewart, Graylin Heustess, Blair Griffin, Asia Jackson

BessemerCity— Tierra Dameron, Madison Carter, Anjala Brewton

Hickory Grove— Hannah Griffin, Jayla Joyner, Hannah Adamczyk

Cherryville— Jacquilla Burris, Latiya McDowell

Castlewood— Sydney Elam, Caitlyn Fleming

Chase— Takirah McKinney, Kaitlyn Smart

Hunter Huss— Jalaah Crosby, Jessica Hannah

Thomas Jefferson — Victoria Bennett, Gracie Hollifield