Opinion: Columnists View All »

Mar. 01, 2015 @ 09:50 AM

Cooperative Extension Column/National Nutrition Month

Extension Column
Prepared by Tracy Davis - Extension Agent


Feb. 27, 2015 @ 11:59 AM

What road are you on?

I love to travel.


Feb. 27, 2015 @ 09:19 AM

All thanks to the adults

Since the Jackie Robinson West scandal broke I’ve been thinking a lot about the impact adults have on young athletes. 

 

Feb. 26, 2015 @ 10:40 AM

PURCELL: Snow’s silver lining

I admit it: I love the snow and the cold.


Feb. 26, 2015 @ 09:32 AM

Let's try to be less selfish and more selfless

There are many selfless servants in Rutherford County.

They are your friends, your neighbors and sometimes even complete strangers.


Feb. 25, 2015 @ 10:32 AM

WAGNER: A matter of proper mechanics

As a rule I am fairly quiet at the gym.  That being the case, the unabashed scream that escaped my mouth last week caused a bit of a stir.  People in every room knew that either (A) someone had dropped a very heavy weight on his foot, or (B) someone had finally “broken through a sticking point.” Happily for me it was the latter, not the former.


Feb. 25, 2015 @ 07:59 AM

Odds and Ends - Literally

The end. "The Daily Show with Jon Stewart" is going to end sometime soon


Feb. 24, 2015 @ 10:01 AM

CAMPBELL: Not your father’s GOP

Can you remember those car ads that tried to lure us into purchasing the new model proclaiming, “This is not your father’s Oldsmobile?” The brand disappeared, now little more than a memory. The same can be said about the traditional old-line GOP in North Carolina. The current version bears little resemblance to many of the ideals Republicans once espoused.


Feb. 24, 2015 @ 09:30 AM

HOOD: A martyr to applause

If the recent review of campus-based centers by the University of North Carolina Board of Governors was all an elaborate ruse to silence a critic of Republicans, it would probably qualify as the most improbable, elaborate, and ineffective conspiracy in North Carolina history.


Feb. 22, 2015 @ 09:55 AM

A weekend in Wild West North Carolina

I slouched against the poker table with an empty whiskey bottle dangling from my hand. "Hey, can't ya cinch that a lil' tighter? I can't hold up no bank with no 30-inch waist," I slurred to the fellow tying a silk sash around my dress.