Opinion: Columnists View All »

Mar. 29, 2015 @ 10:48 AM

Cooperative Extension Column

Eat Smart      Move More      Take Control


Mar. 29, 2015 @ 10:45 AM

Cooperative Extension Column

We recently got news that highly pathogenic avian influenza had been confirmed in Minnesota, Missouri, Kansas and Arkansas, which though still several states away, is a lot closer than the Pacific Northwest where it was previously confined.


Mar. 29, 2015 @ 09:41 AM

JANARD: My life with Mr. Fix It

I really admire women who are good at home repairs and maintenance. While I've never had any inclination to develop these skills myself, I appreciate what these women are doing to counter the stereotype of the mechanically helpless female.


Mar. 29, 2015 @ 09:34 AM

GORDON: Healthier children still play outdoors

Last Thursday evening was a good time with family. My niece who lives in Decatur, Alabama was visiting her parents. Two other nieces and families and my nephew and his family were together at my sister's house in Bostic for supper and fellowship. before my niece headed back home.


Mar. 27, 2015 @ 08:20 AM

Adventures in career days

With graduation just around the corner, high school seniors are coming to the realization that they are about to enter a whole new world. No more mommy waking them up to go to school every morning or teachers holding their hands through projects. 


Mar. 27, 2015 @ 08:10 AM

JONES: You have the right to be wrong

A great friend said to me recently, “I don’t have to agree with everything anyone says.” Differences of opinion are a fact of life. I like butter pecan, someone else likes chocolate; who cares? My favorite season is the Fall; you may like the Summer better; I have no problem with that. Some people are highly opinionated with regard to politics and/or the economy, and say to us, “You can be wrong if you want to.” Well, we have the right to be wrong.


Mar. 26, 2015 @ 10:00 AM

The games have begun!

That wonderful time of year has arrived when senior adults have an opportunity to showcase their artistic talents and athletic abilities.

The Senior Games are here and the competition is both friendly and fierce this year!


Mar. 26, 2015 @ 08:43 AM

WAGNER: An apocryphal survey with telling results

While looking over a recent pastoral survey, the idea came to me for a survey of my own. And so, with malice toward none and hopefully a healthy laugh for all...


Mar. 24, 2015 @ 09:25 AM

JOHNSON: Temple of Gloom

I don’t know a nice, kind way to say what I’m about to say so I’ll just put it out there bluntly: I’m tired of movie reboots.


Mar. 24, 2015 @ 09:23 AM

CAMPBELL: Our own ‘House of Cards’

You don’t have to watch House of Cards on Netflix to witness political drama, intrigue and raw power plays. There’s all you want taking place in Raleigh in the separation of powers battle between the executive and legislative branches of state government. It’s ugly and could affect the way our state does business.