Opinion View All »

Apr. 19, 2015 @ 08:23 AM

OUR VIEW: Cheers and Jeers

Cheers ... to the Sandy Mush Volunteer Fire Department for breaking ground on a second fire station off of Chase High Road. The second station will not only allow firefighters to have better response times and serve more residents and businesses, but also help more people save on their fire property insurance premiums.


Apr. 19, 2015 @ 08:12 AM

JANARD: Hager, Hise and the county's irrelevant unemployment rat

According to the most recent employment figures from North Carolina's Department of Commerce, Rutherford County has an 8 percent unemployment rate. This news was met with apparent joy by our county's state representative Mike Hager, who posted on his Facebook page: "From last year to this year, Rutherford County's unemployment numbers have dropped 1.5 percent from 9.5 to 8. Our conservative, business focused policies are helping to bring this state back!"


Apr. 17, 2015 @ 09:40 AM

Happy birthday, to my person

Finding a life-long friend is a hard task sometimes. People fade in and out of your life for many reasons. You move away or you have a fight and one person or the other decides it isn't worth trying to keep the friendship alive. 

 

Opinion: Editorials View All »

Oct. 22, 2014 @ 10:19 AM

OUR VIEW: Take advantage of One-Stop voting

On Thursday, three voting locations in Rutherford County will open for one-stop voting.

Apr. 19, 2015 @ 08:23 AM

OUR VIEW: Cheers and Jeers

Cheers ... to the Sandy Mush Volunteer Fire Department for breaking ground on a second fire station off of Chase High Road. The second station will not only allow firefighters to have better response times and serve more residents and businesses, but also help more people save on their fire property insurance premiums.


Apr. 17, 2015 @ 08:03 AM

OUR VIEW: National Volunteer Week

“Volunteers are love in motion” an author once said.


Apr. 16, 2015 @ 09:18 AM

OUR VIEW: A 1948 return to Rutherford County

There are often special celebrations for the birthdate of Rutherford County and Tuesday night, April 14 as she celebrated her 236th years, a historical movie depicting the county in 1948 was shown to the public at the Retro Cinema 4  in Forest City.


Apr. 15, 2015 @ 08:38 AM

OUR VIEW: A few dollars will go a long way

The Board of Directors for United Way of Rutherford County made a decision recently we believe was wise and could bring additional dollars to United Way for future giving.


Opinion: Columnists View All »

Apr. 19, 2015 @ 11:14 AM

Hager, Hise and the county’s irrelevant unemployment rate

According to the most recent employment figures from North Carolina’s Department of Commerce, Rutherford County has an 8 percent unemployment rate. This news was met with apparent joy by our county’s state representative Mike Hager, who posted on his Facebook page: “From last year to this year, Rutherford County’s unemployment numbers have dropped 1.5 percent from 9.5 to 8. Our conservative, business focused policies are helping to bring this state back!” 


Apr. 19, 2015 @ 08:12 AM

JANARD: Hager, Hise and the county's irrelevant unemployment rat

According to the most recent employment figures from North Carolina's Department of Commerce, Rutherford County has an 8 percent unemployment rate. This news was met with apparent joy by our county's state representative Mike Hager, who posted on his Facebook page: "From last year to this year, Rutherford County's unemployment numbers have dropped 1.5 percent from 9.5 to 8. Our conservative, business focused policies are helping to bring this state back!"


Apr. 19, 2015 @ 07:42 AM

Spring Mineral Supplementation is Important

Mineral supplementation is an important and often expensive part of a good integrated management program for beef cattle. Medium and high quality forages are a good source of many important minerals, such as calcium, phosphorus, potassium, and sulfur, and the important vitamins A and E, but they are usually deficient in salt, and the trace minerals copper, zinc, and selenium. Rutherford County soils are especially deficient in selenium.


Opinion: Letters to the Editor View All »

Apr. 16, 2015 @ 08:16 AM

LETTER: Past BOE actions were political

To the Editor: Recent actions by Rep. Mike Hager have created quite a bit of controversy. I may not agree with all his actions, but I think they warrant an impartial review.


Apr. 10, 2015 @ 08:27 AM

LETTER: The lessons of the Holocaust

To the editor: I am Jewish-American, many of my family were exterminated in the camps. Our strength and resolve come as we are truly blessed; chosen by God as his own. A covenant bestowed upon us after our flight from slavery in Egypt and one we celebrate each year during Passover.


Apr. 09, 2015 @ 08:40 AM

LETTER: Not happy with Rep. Hager

To the Editor: I hope that Representative Mike Hager’s recent odious  behavior, which is definitely against the wishes of his constituents, will remind people not to vote a straight Republican, or for that matter, Democratic ticket in elections.


Polls View All »

Feb. 14, 2013 @ 08:00 PM

Poll: Medicaid expansion and the state health exchange

Take part in the latest poll from The Daily Courier.


Oct. 18, 2012 @ 12:21 PM

Poll: What do you think about the new Daily Courier website

Take part in our poll that asks about the new Daily Courier website.