Opinion View All »

Oct. 24, 2014 @ 10:11 AM

The power of projects

I had the privilege of visiting R-S Middle School on Wednesday to do a story about the Edgar Allan Poe projects eighth grade classes recently completed. Lecia Greenway had her students read many of his short stories and create a project based on his works and his life. 


Oct. 24, 2014 @ 09:42 AM

OUR VIEW: Encouraging numbers on first day

Thursday was the start of a shortened early voting period across North Carolina.


Oct. 24, 2014 @ 08:11 AM

JONES: Advocate with a badge

There are roughly 900,000 law enforcement officers in the U.S., 12 percent of which are female. In the first half of 2014, 67 have already died, a 31 percent increase over 2013. (National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund) 


Opinion: Editorials View All »

Oct. 22, 2014 @ 10:19 AM

OUR VIEW: Take advantage of One-Stop voting

On Thursday, three voting locations in Rutherford County will open for one-stop voting.

Oct. 24, 2014 @ 09:42 AM

OUR VIEW: Encouraging numbers on first day

Thursday was the start of a shortened early voting period across North Carolina.


Oct. 23, 2014 @ 09:42 AM

OUR VIEW: The need for integrity

Integrity is an important part of life. Without it you have nothing.


Oct. 21, 2014 @ 09:43 AM

OUR VIEW: People speak out on rate increase proposal

Insurance companies represented by the North Carolina Rate Bureau have requested to be allowed passing an increase in homeowner insurance rates.


Oct. 19, 2014 @ 08:18 AM

OUR VIEW: Cheers and Jeers

Cheers … to the crime fighting efforts of all law enforcement officials in the county which resulted in a decline in the county's crime rate to an all-time low over the past decade. 


Opinion: Columnists View All »

Oct. 24, 2014 @ 10:11 AM

The power of projects

I had the privilege of visiting R-S Middle School on Wednesday to do a story about the Edgar Allan Poe projects eighth grade classes recently completed. Lecia Greenway had her students read many of his short stories and create a project based on his works and his life. 


Oct. 24, 2014 @ 08:11 AM

JONES: Advocate with a badge

There are roughly 900,000 law enforcement officers in the U.S., 12 percent of which are female. In the first half of 2014, 67 have already died, a 31 percent increase over 2013. (National Law Enforcement Officers Memorial Fund) 


Oct. 23, 2014 @ 10:50 AM

Know the law when it comes to a stopped school bus

In case you forgot, school is still in session and buses are on the roads.

Daily, more than 14,000 school buses travel North Carolina highways transporting children to and from school, according to the American School Bus Council. And while most motorists stop when they approach stopped school buses, on an average school day there are nearly 3,000 North Carolinians who don't.


Opinion: Letters to the Editor View All »

Oct. 07, 2014 @ 10:52 AM

LETTER: Keep the politics at home

Rutherfordton Elementary Fall Fun Night was a huge success and a lot of fun. 

Unfortunately the politicians of the county wanted to have fun too.


Oct. 07, 2014 @ 09:53 AM

LETTER: Wake up Rutherford County

The County Commissioners and County Manager are spending money they don’t have (county in debt $40 million). 


Oct. 05, 2014 @ 05:11 PM

LETTER: Rethink concrete pads on Daniel Road

I am writing this on the county commissioners deciding to install concrete pads on the property on Daniel Road.


Polls View All »

Feb. 14, 2013 @ 08:00 PM

Poll: Medicaid expansion and the state health exchange

Take part in the latest poll from The Daily Courier.


Oct. 18, 2012 @ 12:21 PM

Poll: What do you think about the new Daily Courier website

Take part in our poll that asks about the new Daily Courier website.