Opinion View All »

Apr. 18, 2014 @ 05:00 AM

Maybe next year

If you haven’t heard already, Wisconsin lost the semifinal game for the NCAA tournament against Kentucky on Saturday, April 5. Apparently the letter I wrote to them in a previous column didn’t work.


Apr. 18, 2014 @ 03:32 AM

Fall of the House of Bush?

Are hard-line Republican conservatives about to implement their own version of political entitlement reform? Are we now witnessing the beginning of the fall of the House of Bush?


Apr. 18, 2014 @ 03:25 AM

Joint venture a positive for community

Anytime you can market your county and the surrounding area in a positive way, it can only be viewed as a good thing for everyone involved.


Opinion: Editorials View All »

Apr. 18, 2014 @ 03:25 AM

Joint venture a positive for community

Anytime you can market your county and the surrounding area in a positive way, it can only be viewed as a good thing for everyone involved.

Apr. 17, 2014 @ 09:47 AM

OUR VIEW: What took so long?

Over two months after a spill along the Dan River affected nearly 70 miles of the water supply, North Carolina Gov. Pat McCrory has a plan.


Apr. 16, 2014 @ 03:14 AM

Supporting ourselves

We all have our favorite teams we root for during the season.

Whether it be North Carolina, Duke, Wake Forest, Clemson, South Carolina or whatever team, we have our favorites, and we root for them vigorously.


Apr. 15, 2014 @ 04:07 AM

Taxes, the price we pay

With millions of procrastinators on their final sprint to the midnight Tuesday deadline for filing our income-tax returns for last year, no doubt even those who are comfortable with the idea of the progressive income tax may utter a grumble or two.


Apr. 13, 2014 @ 03:20 AM

Cheers and Jeers

Cheers … to the Pinnacle Elementary School students for collecting $1,400 in pennies for United Way. That equals 140,000 pennies which weigh 772 pounds. That's a hefty donation for a worthy cause.

Jeers … to all the campaign signs that have been placed in highway right of ways where they become a hazard as well as a nuisance.


Opinion: Columnists View All »

Apr. 18, 2014 @ 05:00 AM

Maybe next year

If you haven’t heard already, Wisconsin lost the semifinal game for the NCAA tournament against Kentucky on Saturday, April 5. Apparently the letter I wrote to them in a previous column didn’t work.


Apr. 18, 2014 @ 03:32 AM

Fall of the House of Bush?

Are hard-line Republican conservatives about to implement their own version of political entitlement reform? Are we now witnessing the beginning of the fall of the House of Bush?


Apr. 17, 2014 @ 05:03 AM

Above and beyond the call to serve

As a reporter assigned to provide coverage of crime and emergency situations, there is no disputing that the job of a firefighter or a police officer is much more than what meets the eye.


Opinion: Letters to the Editor View All »

Dec. 22, 2013 @ 10:50 AM

LETTER: Issues with Bostic-Sunshine highway

Dear Editor:

Since the letter from Bill Coxe, we have had yet another accident at the Dollar General/Bostic/Sunshine intersection! 


Dec. 22, 2013 @ 08:51 AM

LETTER: Become educated

Dear Editor:

Unlike many of the authors of letters to this paper I do not want to deceive you into thinking that I am some sort of expert or that you must be ignorant or gullible to think in any way contrary to myself.


Dec. 22, 2013 @ 05:49 AM

LETTER: Look for solutions to underage drinking

Dear Editor: 

The family of Matthew S Lail was accompanied into Rutherford County Superior Court by Ellen Pitt, Fred Cooke and Kay Cooke of MADD WNC on Monday, December 16.


Polls View All »

Feb. 14, 2013 @ 08:00 PM

Poll: Medicaid expansion and the state health exchange

Take part in the latest poll from The Daily Courier.


Oct. 18, 2012 @ 12:21 PM

Poll: What do you think about the new Daily Courier website

Take part in our poll that asks about the new Daily Courier website.