Opinion View All »

Jul. 07, 2015 @ 08:35 AM

JOHNSON: Jurassic World goes all the way to the bank

Well, it seems I’ve greatly underestimated the popularity of the “Jurassic Park” franchise, and by quite a bit apparently.


Jul. 07, 2015 @ 07:45 AM

OUR VIEW: At times, soccer match was surreal

In the holiday mode of the July 4th weekend, Americans celebrated with the U.S. Women’s National Soccer Team Sunday night as it claimed the Women’s’ World Cup in Vancouver, British Columbia.  With a score of 5-2, America’s team  defeated Japan in a game that at times was surreal.


Jul. 07, 2015 @ 07:37 AM

CAMPBELL: Fixing our annual budget crisis

Few are surprised our legislature came up to the deadline to pass a new state budget and was forced to pass a continuing resolution. It’s a regular occurrence. Fewer still have raised questions why and how this happens or what we could do to avoid this frantic annual budget crisis.


Opinion: Editorials View All »

Oct. 22, 2014 @ 10:19 AM

OUR VIEW: Take advantage of One-Stop voting

On Thursday, three voting locations in Rutherford County will open for one-stop voting.

Jul. 07, 2015 @ 07:45 AM

OUR VIEW: At times, soccer match was surreal

In the holiday mode of the July 4th weekend, Americans celebrated with the U.S. Women’s National Soccer Team Sunday night as it claimed the Women’s’ World Cup in Vancouver, British Columbia.  With a score of 5-2, America’s team  defeated Japan in a game that at times was surreal.


Jul. 05, 2015 @ 07:56 AM

OUR VIEW: Cheers and jeers

Cheers .... to Savannah Bell upon receiving the Congressional Award Silver Medal by U.S.Congressman Patrick McHenry last week. Savannah is also the recipient of the Rutherford County Outstanding Volunteer of the Year award. She is an example to all young people for her involvement in a wide range of volunteer programs in the county.


Jul. 03, 2015 @ 07:42 AM

OUR VIEW: Today is a time of celebration

There are many things Americans do not agree on when it comes to politics and other things. But we can all agree that today is a day for all Americans, and a day of celebration.


Jul. 02, 2015 @ 08:02 AM

OUR VIEW: Eliminating driver’s ed funds will come at cost

Administrators with Rutherford County Schools are scrambling this week to find money to offer on-the-road driver instruction in the Driver’s Education program this summer.


Opinion: Columnists View All »

Jul. 07, 2015 @ 08:35 AM

JOHNSON: Jurassic World goes all the way to the bank

Well, it seems I’ve greatly underestimated the popularity of the “Jurassic Park” franchise, and by quite a bit apparently.


Jul. 07, 2015 @ 07:37 AM

CAMPBELL: Fixing our annual budget crisis

Few are surprised our legislature came up to the deadline to pass a new state budget and was forced to pass a continuing resolution. It’s a regular occurrence. Fewer still have raised questions why and how this happens or what we could do to avoid this frantic annual budget crisis.


Jul. 05, 2015 @ 08:59 AM

GORDON: The best week ever — July 4th week

As a child growing up in an industrious textile county, this was our week. “The Fourth of July week” was automatically etched in our minds and on our calendars for years. It was the only week the mills traditionally shut down and hourly workers were on vacation.


Opinion: Letters to the Editor View All »

Jun. 24, 2015 @ 08:59 AM

LETTER: Better event planning would help

As a longtime fan of the Clydesdale horses, I was especially excited to read in your paper that they were to appear in Forest City on May 29, 2015.


Jun. 14, 2015 @ 08:57 AM

LETTER: Concerning Dr. Bobby England

To the citizens of Rutherford County and all those who have been severed admirably by Isothermal Community College:


Jun. 07, 2015 @ 09:21 AM

LETTER: Trustee appointment is questioned

To the editor: I believe we need to know a little more about this appointment of "Bennett" to the Isothermal Community College Board of Trustees. Who is he and his party? Was this a political appointment?


Polls View All »

Feb. 14, 2013 @ 08:00 PM

Poll: Medicaid expansion and the state health exchange

Take part in the latest poll from The Daily Courier.


Oct. 18, 2012 @ 12:21 PM

Poll: What do you think about the new Daily Courier website

Take part in our poll that asks about the new Daily Courier website.