Opinion View All »

Aug. 20, 2014 @ 10:26 AM

OUR VIEW: Bring back the fun

It was shocking when, Monday night, Forest City Owls owner Ken Silver announced he and his wife Bette are selling the Owls, as soon as possible.


Aug. 20, 2014 @ 10:23 AM

STANFORD: It's the abuse of power stupid

When it comes to political corruption, it's rarely as simple as taking a bribe on hidden camera. Political corruption is usually messy, such as the ongoing trial of former Virginia Gov. Bob McDonnell, who took a king's ransom from a guy who had a crush on the First Lady in exchange for using the Governor's Office to promote his nutritional supplement business. See? It gets complicated.


Aug. 20, 2014 @ 09:21 AM

WAGNER: Thanking God for paper and ink

I have a lot to be thankful for, and I have honestly made it my practice for many years to try and be a person who constantly says “thank you,” especially to God.


Opinion: Editorials View All »

Aug. 19, 2014 @ 08:51 AM

OUR VIEW: Is crowdfunding the answer?

A majority of small businesses across the county struggle at any given time.

Aug. 20, 2014 @ 10:26 AM

OUR VIEW: Bring back the fun

It was shocking when, Monday night, Forest City Owls owner Ken Silver announced he and his wife Bette are selling the Owls, as soon as possible.


Aug. 17, 2014 @ 10:22 AM

OUR VIEW: Cheers and Jeers

Cheers … to the Rutherford Health Center in Spindale and its dedicated staff for making primary health care services available to everyone in the community regardless of ability to pay.


Aug. 15, 2014 @ 09:22 AM

OUR VIEW: Just sit down and talk

It’s something only compared to the Civil Rights battles of the 1960s.


Aug. 14, 2014 @ 10:23 AM

OUR VIEW: The merits of social media

It’s hard to find someone today that doesn’t have a Facebook, Twitter, Instagram, Flickr, Tumblr, Google+ or any one of the hundreds of social media networks out there.


Opinion: Columnists View All »

Aug. 20, 2014 @ 10:23 AM

STANFORD: It's the abuse of power stupid

When it comes to political corruption, it's rarely as simple as taking a bribe on hidden camera. Political corruption is usually messy, such as the ongoing trial of former Virginia Gov. Bob McDonnell, who took a king's ransom from a guy who had a crush on the First Lady in exchange for using the Governor's Office to promote his nutritional supplement business. See? It gets complicated.


Aug. 20, 2014 @ 09:21 AM

WAGNER: Thanking God for paper and ink

I have a lot to be thankful for, and I have honestly made it my practice for many years to try and be a person who constantly says “thank you,” especially to God.


Aug. 19, 2014 @ 09:47 AM

CAMPBELL: We can simplify our elections

The special election in November to fill a Court of Appeals judgeship illustrates how complicated, costly and difficult we’ve made elections and how we might simplify voting.


Opinion: Letters to the Editor View All »

Aug. 10, 2014 @ 02:20 PM

LETTER: Problems with no tax holiday

When it comes Election time in November, we should all remember our North Carolina Government voted against, NO TAX WEEKEND.


Aug. 10, 2014 @ 11:22 AM

LETTER: Kudos to ‘The Sound of Music’

Matthew and Diane McEnnerney have done it again--entertaining a sellout audience with a spectacular performance, "The Sound of Music."


Jul. 20, 2014 @ 11:54 AM

LETTER: Thanks for the help

The members of American Legion Post 423 would like to thank everyone who donated items for the patients of the VA hospital in Asheville.


Polls View All »

Feb. 14, 2013 @ 08:00 PM

Poll: Medicaid expansion and the state health exchange

Take part in the latest poll from The Daily Courier.


Oct. 18, 2012 @ 12:21 PM

Poll: What do you think about the new Daily Courier website

Take part in our poll that asks about the new Daily Courier website.