Opinion View All »

Jan. 30, 2015 @ 10:46 AM

JONES: Can you handle the truth?

“You can't handle the truth...”, spouted actor Jack Nicholson in the movie “A Few Good Men”, starring Tom Cruise. 


Jan. 30, 2015 @ 10:33 AM

Super Bowl is all about the animals

This weekend men and women across the nation will break out their recliners, chicken wings, pizza and beer and prepare for what many refer to as a holiday. Super Bowl XLIX is Sunday at 6:30 p.m. and the animals that are the gigantic NFL players will be out for blood to try to bring home the win. 

But the Super Bowl isn't just about those animals on the field. There are other animals that shine on this day every year. 


Jan. 30, 2015 @ 10:05 AM

OUR VIEW: A great action deserves more

If there is even one child that goes hungry, it is one too many.


Opinion: Editorials View All »

Oct. 22, 2014 @ 10:19 AM

OUR VIEW: Take advantage of One-Stop voting

On Thursday, three voting locations in Rutherford County will open for one-stop voting.

Jan. 30, 2015 @ 10:05 AM

OUR VIEW: A great action deserves more

If there is even one child that goes hungry, it is one too many.


Jan. 29, 2015 @ 09:02 AM

OUR VIEW: Notoriety is good for county

A story in Site Selection magazine has put a huge spotlight on Rutherford County.


Jan. 28, 2015 @ 09:46 AM

OUR VIEW: Still a need for broadband work

The announcement Tuesday that Google has chosen Charlotte and the Raleigh-Durham area to install Google Fiber is certainly good news for those areas.


Jan. 27, 2015 @ 09:02 AM

OUR VIEW: The bill is getting larger

Services cost money.


Opinion: Columnists View All »

Jan. 30, 2015 @ 10:46 AM

JONES: Can you handle the truth?

“You can't handle the truth...”, spouted actor Jack Nicholson in the movie “A Few Good Men”, starring Tom Cruise. 


Jan. 30, 2015 @ 10:33 AM

Super Bowl is all about the animals

This weekend men and women across the nation will break out their recliners, chicken wings, pizza and beer and prepare for what many refer to as a holiday. Super Bowl XLIX is Sunday at 6:30 p.m. and the animals that are the gigantic NFL players will be out for blood to try to bring home the win. 

But the Super Bowl isn't just about those animals on the field. There are other animals that shine on this day every year. 


Jan. 29, 2015 @ 09:56 AM

HOOD: Free speech faces threats

Freedom of speech is one of the core values of a free society.


Opinion: Letters to the Editor View All »

Jan. 27, 2015 @ 08:26 AM

LETTER: Help spay or neuter pets

Community Partnership for Pets, Inc. (CPPI) is an all volunteer, non profit based in Flat Rock, NC (Henderson County). We have been in business since August 2005. Our primary mission is to provide financial assistance to help low income families get their pets spayed or neutered.


Jan. 21, 2015 @ 08:13 AM

LETTER: Kiwanis does help

Did you know that Kiwanis International helped eradicate Iodine Deficiency Disorder in theworld (which was the No. 1 cause of mental retardation)? 


Jan. 18, 2015 @ 08:36 AM

LETTER: Time to set priorities

At the last Commissioners meeting Sheriff (Chris) Francis asked for 10 additional personnel — five immediately and five for the upcoming budget year.


Polls View All »

Feb. 14, 2013 @ 08:00 PM

Poll: Medicaid expansion and the state health exchange

Take part in the latest poll from The Daily Courier.


Oct. 18, 2012 @ 12:21 PM

Poll: What do you think about the new Daily Courier website

Take part in our poll that asks about the new Daily Courier website.