Opinion View All »

Sep. 21, 2014 @ 07:57 PM

LETTER: Solution for Latin American children

In recent days the news media has been having an obsession with the Latin American children who are crossing the border. There are two schools of thought concerning as to what can be done. One says that we should send them back to their parents and another says that we should let them stay.


Sep. 21, 2014 @ 02:56 PM

LETTER: Sad day for CPE program, county

It was a sad day for our county, hospital patients and theological students when the hospital chose to eliminate the Chaplain and Clinical Pastoral Education (CPE) Program.


Sep. 21, 2014 @ 01:09 PM

GORDON: Tromping through the woods on a fall Sunday afternoon

Tromping through the woods on a crisp autumn Sunday afternoon held treasures beyond belief for a group of kids out for an adventure.


Opinion: Editorials View All »

Sep. 19, 2014 @ 09:48 AM

OUR VIEW: What will you do for us?

It seems like no matter what television channel you turn to, there are campaign ads.

Sep. 21, 2014 @ 12:09 PM

OUR VIEW: Cheers and Jeers

Cheers … to the Town of Forest City for continuing work on its pedestrian plan and for soliciting input from the public.


Sep. 18, 2014 @ 10:38 AM

OUR VIEW: Moving forward with I-74

In March 2013, the thought of interstate designation for U.S. 74 from I-26 to Wilmington was nothing more than a dream of county officials in Rutherford, Cleveland and Polk counties.


Sep. 17, 2014 @ 10:31 AM

OUR VIEW: War on poverty far from won

Those who live in poverty know of true struggles.


Sep. 16, 2014 @ 10:18 AM

OUR VIEW: Renewable energy, for the right reason

Monday, Duke Energy officials said they plan to invest nearly $500 million in solar energy in North Carolina.


Opinion: Columnists View All »

Sep. 21, 2014 @ 02:41 PM

RAMSEY: Offered a timeshare 

Dear Dave,

Some friends recently offered me a timeshare. It’s an older place on the beach, and they’ve had it for about 20 years. I’d have to pay a transfer fee of $100, plus a yearly association fee of $500. I know you’re not a big fan of timeshares, but does this deal sound okay?


Sep. 21, 2014 @ 01:09 PM

GORDON: Tromping through the woods on a fall Sunday afternoon

Tromping through the woods on a crisp autumn Sunday afternoon held treasures beyond belief for a group of kids out for an adventure.


Sep. 21, 2014 @ 11:44 AM

JANARD: Happy birthday, 7-year-olds!

If you turned seven this month, this column is especially for you. Heck, let's make it for everyone who celebrated turning seven this year. It's too important a birthday to leave anyone out. 


Opinion: Letters to the Editor View All »

Sep. 21, 2014 @ 07:57 PM

LETTER: Solution for Latin American children

In recent days the news media has been having an obsession with the Latin American children who are crossing the border. There are two schools of thought concerning as to what can be done. One says that we should send them back to their parents and another says that we should let them stay.


Sep. 21, 2014 @ 02:56 PM

LETTER: Sad day for CPE program, county

It was a sad day for our county, hospital patients and theological students when the hospital chose to eliminate the Chaplain and Clinical Pastoral Education (CPE) Program.


Sep. 21, 2014 @ 09:55 AM

LETTER: Yes to prayer at Commission meetings

Any County Commissioner who votes to not allow prayer at meetings needs to be voted out of office (Sept. 7, 2014; The Daily Courier).


Polls View All »

Feb. 14, 2013 @ 08:00 PM

Poll: Medicaid expansion and the state health exchange

Take part in the latest poll from The Daily Courier.


Oct. 18, 2012 @ 12:21 PM

Poll: What do you think about the new Daily Courier website

Take part in our poll that asks about the new Daily Courier website.