Opinion View All »

Jul. 29, 2014 @ 10:06 AM

CLARK: Toss up: Italy or email spam

I struggled over the weekend with what to write about this week.


Jul. 29, 2014 @ 09:52 AM

CAMPBELL: What the legislature isn’t telling you about 2015

Our lawmakers have been embroiled in contentious debates about teacher pay and Medicaid, among other issues, as they struggle to revise our $21 billion state budget. While these are undoubtedly important and deserve attention they are symptoms of a much larger problem.


Jul. 29, 2014 @ 09:41 AM

OUR VIEW: Bring back sales tax holiday

Traditionally, the first weekend of August was reserved for back-to-school shopping as stores across Rutherford County and North Carolina prepared for strong sales.


Opinion: Editorials View All »

Jul. 29, 2014 @ 09:41 AM

OUR VIEW: Bring back sales tax holiday

Traditionally, the first weekend of August was reserved for back-to-school shopping as stores across Rutherford County and North Carolina prepared for strong sales.

Jul. 27, 2014 @ 09:24 AM

OUR VIEW: Cheers and Jeers

Cheers … to Amy Bridges upon her appointment as Downtown/Community Development Manager for the Town of Forest City. May she have great success carrying on the important work begun by Danielle Withrow.


Jul. 25, 2014 @ 07:15 AM

OUR VIEW: No winners in trial

The statistics surrounding the dangers of drunk driving are numerous and telling.


Jul. 24, 2014 @ 09:41 AM

OUR VIEW: Campaigns meant to help, not hinder

To some motorists, they are viewed as nothing more than a delay to a final destination.


Jul. 23, 2014 @ 09:14 AM

OUR VIEW: A house divided

The news out of Raleigh is bordering on the insane.


Opinion: Columnists View All »

Jul. 29, 2014 @ 10:06 AM

CLARK: Toss up: Italy or email spam

I struggled over the weekend with what to write about this week.


Jul. 29, 2014 @ 09:52 AM

CAMPBELL: What the legislature isn’t telling you about 2015

Our lawmakers have been embroiled in contentious debates about teacher pay and Medicaid, among other issues, as they struggle to revise our $21 billion state budget. While these are undoubtedly important and deserve attention they are symptoms of a much larger problem.


Jul. 27, 2014 @ 11:27 AM

MCKOOL: The truth about buying local

In the past I have I talked about the right foods to eat.  Personally, the ideal way to eat would be real food, grown organic, local and in season.  This way you are avoiding the genetically modified organisms (GMO’s) truck coming from who knows where.  


Opinion: Letters to the Editor View All »

Jul. 20, 2014 @ 11:54 AM

LETTER: Thanks for the help

The members of American Legion Post 423 would like to thank everyone who donated items for the patients of the VA hospital in Asheville.


Jul. 20, 2014 @ 10:54 AM

LETTER: Needs for animals

Recently, The Courier printed a well-written editorial concerning the present animal shelter for Rutherford County and its needs. Over the years, I have rescued several animals from there and have been well-pleased.


Jul. 10, 2014 @ 09:38 AM

LETTER: Stricter control over animal ownership

Dear Editor:

I can certainly empathize with Lt. Godlock's comments in the front page article from July 4, 2014. People need to stop with the animal over-population.


Polls View All »

Feb. 14, 2013 @ 08:00 PM

Poll: Medicaid expansion and the state health exchange

Take part in the latest poll from The Daily Courier.


Oct. 18, 2012 @ 12:21 PM

Poll: What do you think about the new Daily Courier website

Take part in our poll that asks about the new Daily Courier website.