Opinion View All »

Sep. 02, 2014 @ 10:41 AM

CLARK: All that just to hock clothes??

You have got to be kidding me.


Sep. 02, 2014 @ 10:37 AM

OUR VIEW: Labor Day: More than the end of summer

Monday was a day off for many.


Sep. 02, 2014 @ 10:34 AM

CAMPBELL: Coal ash questions won’t be answered for years

Before legislators could adjourn for the year they had to do two things: give teachers a pay raise and pass a coal ash cleanup bill. Most agree their coal ash solution was weak, leaving more questions than answers.


Opinion: Editorials View All »

Aug. 31, 2014 @ 10:27 AM

OUR VIEW: Cheers and Jeers

Cheers … to Rutherford County Schools (RCS) for coming up with a "strategic planning framework.”  Other government entities would do well to take a lesson from RCS.

Sep. 02, 2014 @ 10:37 AM

OUR VIEW: Labor Day: More than the end of summer

Monday was a day off for many.


Aug. 29, 2014 @ 10:31 AM

OUR VIEW: The long road of redistricting

It’s been over a year since the discussion of redistricting dominated headlines across North Carolina.


Aug. 28, 2014 @ 09:30 AM

OUR VIEW: Ownership idea for the Owls

Now that the sticker shock has worn off, there might be a palatable idea for ownership of the Forest City Owls.


Aug. 27, 2014 @ 10:43 AM

OUR VIEW: A lot in a bucket

It’s become a national trend that took off like a California wildfire.


Opinion: Columnists View All »

Sep. 02, 2014 @ 10:41 AM

CLARK: All that just to hock clothes??

You have got to be kidding me.


Sep. 02, 2014 @ 10:34 AM

CAMPBELL: Coal ash questions won’t be answered for years

Before legislators could adjourn for the year they had to do two things: give teachers a pay raise and pass a coal ash cleanup bill. Most agree their coal ash solution was weak, leaving more questions than answers.


Aug. 31, 2014 @ 02:28 PM

RAMSEY: Repair now or buy later?

Dear Dave,

I’m driving a 10-year-old car with 195,000 miles on it. The car needs $1,500 in repairs, and it’s worth $5,000. I have $40,000 in cash saved, $40,000 in investments and I make $80,000 a year. I also have $15,000 in student loan debt, but the only other thing I owe on is my house. Should I pay to repair the car or buy something else for $15,000?


Opinion: Letters to the Editor View All »

Aug. 24, 2014 @ 09:57 AM

LETTER: Partisan politics involved

It is true that the Republican leaders in Raleigh have refused to expand Medicaid in North Carolina.  In your editorial of 8/18, you write that, “I would hate to think partisan politics and rhetoric played a hand …..”


Aug. 10, 2014 @ 02:20 PM

LETTER: Problems with no tax holiday

When it comes Election time in November, we should all remember our North Carolina Government voted against, NO TAX WEEKEND.


Aug. 10, 2014 @ 11:22 AM

LETTER: Kudos to ‘The Sound of Music’

Matthew and Diane McEnnerney have done it again--entertaining a sellout audience with a spectacular performance, "The Sound of Music."


Polls View All »

Feb. 14, 2013 @ 08:00 PM

Poll: Medicaid expansion and the state health exchange

Take part in the latest poll from The Daily Courier.


Oct. 18, 2012 @ 12:21 PM

Poll: What do you think about the new Daily Courier website

Take part in our poll that asks about the new Daily Courier website.