Opinion View All »

Oct. 22, 2014 @ 10:28 AM

JOHNSON: This is Halloween

It’s not long until Halloween; the night when ghouls, goblins, monsters and all manner of creepy creatures come out to play. Kids will trick or treat, spooky stories will be told and scary movies will be watched. 


Oct. 22, 2014 @ 10:19 AM

OUR VIEW: Take advantage of One-Stop voting

On Thursday, three voting locations in Rutherford County will open for one-stop voting.


Oct. 22, 2014 @ 09:16 AM

WAGNER: Amish polyester ... from China?

When I went recently to preach a marriage conference up north, the church I was with took half a day and hired a wonderful tour guide. 


Opinion: Editorials View All »

Oct. 22, 2014 @ 10:19 AM

OUR VIEW: Take advantage of One-Stop voting

On Thursday, three voting locations in Rutherford County will open for one-stop voting.

Oct. 21, 2014 @ 09:43 AM

OUR VIEW: People speak out on rate increase proposal

Insurance companies represented by the North Carolina Rate Bureau have requested to be allowed passing an increase in homeowner insurance rates.


Oct. 19, 2014 @ 08:18 AM

OUR VIEW: Cheers and Jeers

Cheers … to the crime fighting efforts of all law enforcement officials in the county which resulted in a decline in the county's crime rate to an all-time low over the past decade. 


Oct. 17, 2014 @ 09:11 AM

OUR VIEW: The facts are key … just not here

During campaign season, candidates throw out a lot of numbers and assumptions of fact during stump speeches and debates.


Oct. 16, 2014 @ 08:23 AM

OUR VIEW: Kudos for showing up

Over the last few weeks, Rutherford County residents have had numerous opportunities to visit with candidates running for public office.


Opinion: Columnists View All »

Oct. 22, 2014 @ 10:28 AM

JOHNSON: This is Halloween

It’s not long until Halloween; the night when ghouls, goblins, monsters and all manner of creepy creatures come out to play. Kids will trick or treat, spooky stories will be told and scary movies will be watched. 


Oct. 22, 2014 @ 09:16 AM

WAGNER: Amish polyester ... from China?

When I went recently to preach a marriage conference up north, the church I was with took half a day and hired a wonderful tour guide. 


Oct. 21, 2014 @ 11:16 AM

CLARK: On the bandwagon? Maybe just this year

In 1985, I was just a young tyke, all of about 9 years old.


Opinion: Letters to the Editor View All »

Oct. 07, 2014 @ 10:52 AM

LETTER: Keep the politics at home

Rutherfordton Elementary Fall Fun Night was a huge success and a lot of fun. 

Unfortunately the politicians of the county wanted to have fun too.


Oct. 07, 2014 @ 09:53 AM

LETTER: Wake up Rutherford County

The County Commissioners and County Manager are spending money they don’t have (county in debt $40 million). 


Oct. 05, 2014 @ 05:11 PM

LETTER: Rethink concrete pads on Daniel Road

I am writing this on the county commissioners deciding to install concrete pads on the property on Daniel Road.


Polls View All »

Feb. 14, 2013 @ 08:00 PM

Poll: Medicaid expansion and the state health exchange

Take part in the latest poll from The Daily Courier.


Oct. 18, 2012 @ 12:21 PM

Poll: What do you think about the new Daily Courier website

Take part in our poll that asks about the new Daily Courier website.