Opinion View All »

Mar. 29, 2015 @ 09:41 AM

JANARD: My life with Mr. Fix It

I really admire women who are good at home repairs and maintenance. While I've never had any inclination to develop these skills myself, I appreciate what these women are doing to counter the stereotype of the mechanically helpless female.


Mar. 29, 2015 @ 09:36 AM

OUR VIEW: Cheers and Jeers

Cheers ... to the state and local agencies who organized the spring campaign of Operation Medicine Drop of Rutherford County and all the residents who stopped by one of four locations to safely disposed of more than 45,000 dosages of unused, unwanted and expired medications.


Mar. 29, 2015 @ 09:34 AM

GORDON: Healthier children still play outdoors

Last Thursday evening was a good time with family. My niece who lives in Decatur, Alabama was visiting her parents. Two other nieces and families and my nephew and his family were together at my sister's house in Bostic for supper and fellowship. before my niece headed back home.


Opinion: Editorials View All »

Oct. 22, 2014 @ 10:19 AM

OUR VIEW: Take advantage of One-Stop voting

On Thursday, three voting locations in Rutherford County will open for one-stop voting.

Mar. 29, 2015 @ 09:36 AM

OUR VIEW: Cheers and Jeers

Cheers ... to the state and local agencies who organized the spring campaign of Operation Medicine Drop of Rutherford County and all the residents who stopped by one of four locations to safely disposed of more than 45,000 dosages of unused, unwanted and expired medications.


Mar. 27, 2015 @ 08:03 AM

OUR VIEW: Another gift from the McNairs

Any time people gather to talk about entrepreneurship and free enterprise for the future of the community, it is a good thing.


Mar. 26, 2015 @ 08:51 AM

OUR VIEW: Time to withdraw House Bill 188

The news that House Majority Leader Rep. Mike Hager, Republican from Rutherfordton, removed his local House Bill 188 from the House Education Committee on Community Colleges is good news. His next wise step would be to withdraw the bill completely from any consideration by anyone in the General Assembly.


Mar. 25, 2015 @ 08:50 AM

OUR VIEW: Notices are public for a reason

Public notices are advertisements that state and local laws require be placed in newspapers by the government so that you know what’s going on in Rutherford County or the state. With these notices you will have an opportunity to participate in a decision before it affects you and your rights.


Opinion: Columnists View All »

Mar. 29, 2015 @ 10:48 AM

Cooperative Extension Column

Eat Smart      Move More      Take Control


Mar. 29, 2015 @ 10:45 AM

Cooperative Extension Column

We recently got news that highly pathogenic avian influenza had been confirmed in Minnesota, Missouri, Kansas and Arkansas, which though still several states away, is a lot closer than the Pacific Northwest where it was previously confined.


Mar. 29, 2015 @ 09:41 AM

JANARD: My life with Mr. Fix It

I really admire women who are good at home repairs and maintenance. While I've never had any inclination to develop these skills myself, I appreciate what these women are doing to counter the stereotype of the mechanically helpless female.


Opinion: Letters to the Editor View All »

Mar. 27, 2015 @ 09:05 AM

LETTER: Bridge in blind curve on Maple Creek

To the editor:  I live on Maple Creek Road (SR1178) in Rutherfordton. There is a blind bridge the road. I say blind because with the Piedmont Gun Club and a sharp blind curve coming down the hill you don`t see what is coming.


Mar. 25, 2015 @ 08:53 AM

LETTER: Thanks to police departments

To the editor: A special thank you to Captain Chris Lovelace of Forest City Police Department for allowing the 4-H Teen Club to participate in the Citizens Police Academy Curriculum.


Mar. 25, 2015 @ 08:52 AM

LETTER: Community won’t be the same

To the editor: Look how far we have come when money means more than anything else. When money directs what is right and wrong. The ability to destroy personal welfare, a neighborhood and future development of a community without the forethought to ask our elected county officials permission to do business of a sensitive nature as waste management.


Polls View All »

Feb. 14, 2013 @ 08:00 PM

Poll: Medicaid expansion and the state health exchange

Take part in the latest poll from The Daily Courier.


Oct. 18, 2012 @ 12:21 PM

Poll: What do you think about the new Daily Courier website

Take part in our poll that asks about the new Daily Courier website.