Opinion View All »

Apr. 24, 2014 @ 05:00 AM

All the world’s a stage

What’s in a name? Well, quite a bit for William Shakespeare.

Perhaps the greatest playwright to ever live, we get some of the best dramas, histories, comedies and tragedies from Shakespeare, not to mention countless sonnets. These masterpieces have transcended centuries and as we celebrate the 450th birthday of Shakespeare this month, it is only appropriate to recall the lasting influence of the great Bard.


Apr. 24, 2014 @ 04:36 AM

Make your voice heard

Voting is a right we all possess and sometimes seldom use.

We have numerous excuses as to why we don’t do it but none of them hold to the muster test.

We’re too busy, we don’t have time or, sometimes more to the point, we just don’t care.


Apr. 24, 2014 @ 03:37 AM

Putting N.C. growth in context

Where are America’s economic hotspots?

If you answer that question based solely on what politicians or pundits say, you might well get it wrong. You might think that Sunbelt states consistently outperform Frostbelt states, or that California’s economy is a basket case. And if your media diet is limited enough, you might think that North Carolina’s recent economic performance has been lackluster or even poor.


Opinion: Editorials View All »

Apr. 24, 2014 @ 04:36 AM

Make your voice heard

Voting is a right we all possess and sometimes seldom use.

We have numerous excuses as to why we don’t do it but none of them hold to the muster test.

We’re too busy, we don’t have time or, sometimes more to the point, we just don’t care.

Apr. 23, 2014 @ 03:06 AM

Remember the past but strive for the future

Sometimes, in life, we have to confront our past in order to move on with our future.

Monday was just such an occasion with the 118th running of the Boston Marathon.


Apr. 22, 2014 @ 03:29 AM

Sugar high, anger low for couples

Parents have long believed that too much sugar for youngsters, particularly before bedtime, has a negative effect. They get wired and want to stay up late.


Apr. 20, 2014 @ 04:30 AM

Cheers and Jeers

Cheers … to the Rutherford Health Center now open in downtown Spindale.

Jeers … to politicians who leave public office and immediately start lobbying their former colleagues for special interest groups and corporations.


Apr. 18, 2014 @ 03:25 AM

Joint venture a positive for community

Anytime you can market your county and the surrounding area in a positive way, it can only be viewed as a good thing for everyone involved.


Opinion: Columnists View All »

Apr. 24, 2014 @ 05:00 AM

All the world’s a stage

What’s in a name? Well, quite a bit for William Shakespeare.

Perhaps the greatest playwright to ever live, we get some of the best dramas, histories, comedies and tragedies from Shakespeare, not to mention countless sonnets. These masterpieces have transcended centuries and as we celebrate the 450th birthday of Shakespeare this month, it is only appropriate to recall the lasting influence of the great Bard.


Apr. 24, 2014 @ 03:37 AM

Putting N.C. growth in context

Where are America’s economic hotspots?

If you answer that question based solely on what politicians or pundits say, you might well get it wrong. You might think that Sunbelt states consistently outperform Frostbelt states, or that California’s economy is a basket case. And if your media diet is limited enough, you might think that North Carolina’s recent economic performance has been lackluster or even poor.


Apr. 23, 2014 @ 05:00 AM

Daddy, come see my castle!

I suppose I do not have much in the way of material goods and wealth in this life. Nonetheless, I believe that I may be among the richest men on earth. I am saved, I have a mansion waiting for me, I have a godly mother, the most amazing wife to ever walk the planet, and three loving children. And it is in my children that I seem to be finding so much wealth of late.


Opinion: Letters to the Editor View All »

Dec. 22, 2013 @ 10:50 AM

LETTER: Issues with Bostic-Sunshine highway

Dear Editor:

Since the letter from Bill Coxe, we have had yet another accident at the Dollar General/Bostic/Sunshine intersection! 


Dec. 22, 2013 @ 08:51 AM

LETTER: Become educated

Dear Editor:

Unlike many of the authors of letters to this paper I do not want to deceive you into thinking that I am some sort of expert or that you must be ignorant or gullible to think in any way contrary to myself.


Dec. 22, 2013 @ 05:49 AM

LETTER: Look for solutions to underage drinking

Dear Editor: 

The family of Matthew S Lail was accompanied into Rutherford County Superior Court by Ellen Pitt, Fred Cooke and Kay Cooke of MADD WNC on Monday, December 16.


Polls View All »

Feb. 14, 2013 @ 08:00 PM

Poll: Medicaid expansion and the state health exchange

Take part in the latest poll from The Daily Courier.


Oct. 18, 2012 @ 12:21 PM

Poll: What do you think about the new Daily Courier website

Take part in our poll that asks about the new Daily Courier website.