Opinion View All »

Nov. 21, 2014 @ 09:20 AM

KIDD: Developing a relationship with coffee

From what I’ve read, coffee is a brewed beverage prepared from roasted or baked seeds of several species of an evergreen shrub of the genus coffea. Coffee plants are cultivated in more than 70 countries and the seeds from the plant are roasted before being ground and brewed to create coffee.


Nov. 21, 2014 @ 09:09 AM

JONES: How to make a right turn

When we come to an intersection, faced with with only a left or right turn, we must choose which way to go; left or right.


Nov. 21, 2014 @ 09:08 AM

OUR VIEW: The sun can be a valuable ally

Rutherford County and North Carolina have evolved into an energy realm that can pay dividends in the near future.


Opinion: Editorials View All »

Oct. 22, 2014 @ 10:19 AM

OUR VIEW: Take advantage of One-Stop voting

On Thursday, three voting locations in Rutherford County will open for one-stop voting.

Nov. 21, 2014 @ 09:08 AM

OUR VIEW: The sun can be a valuable ally

Rutherford County and North Carolina have evolved into an energy realm that can pay dividends in the near future.


Nov. 20, 2014 @ 09:42 AM

OUR VIEW: Bipartisanship works … when it makes sense

Some consider a call to bipartisan arms silly, impossible and against their interpretation of government.


Nov. 19, 2014 @ 09:30 AM

OUR VIEW: Time to fix the problem

We have a big problem in Rutherford County. One in three children are poor. We have a problem when our most needy residents have to go hungry.


Nov. 18, 2014 @ 09:49 AM

OUR VIEW: Now is the time to start giving

Stopping into any store reminds us that the Christmas holiday is right around the corner.


Opinion: Columnists View All »

Nov. 21, 2014 @ 09:20 AM

KIDD: Developing a relationship with coffee

From what I’ve read, coffee is a brewed beverage prepared from roasted or baked seeds of several species of an evergreen shrub of the genus coffea. Coffee plants are cultivated in more than 70 countries and the seeds from the plant are roasted before being ground and brewed to create coffee.


Nov. 21, 2014 @ 09:09 AM

JONES: How to make a right turn

When we come to an intersection, faced with with only a left or right turn, we must choose which way to go; left or right.


Nov. 20, 2014 @ 08:43 AM

HOOD: I got the red blues

One of the legacies of the George W. Bush era was the codification of the red-blue color scheme for American politics.


Opinion: Letters to the Editor View All »

Nov. 21, 2014 @ 08:13 AM

Letter: Awakening a community

Dear Editor: Folded chairs filled the Thomas Jefferson Classical Grammar gym Monday.


Nov. 13, 2014 @ 12:24 PM

LETTER: Kudos to clean energy industry

Thanks to North Carolina’s clean energy industry, electricity consumers within our state actually have the capability to keep more money in their pockets


Nov. 13, 2014 @ 11:23 AM

LETTER: Time to get out of debt

Now that Carl Classen is leaving Rutherford County, maybe we can get out of debt instead of him thinking of something to spend money on.


Polls View All »

Feb. 14, 2013 @ 08:00 PM

Poll: Medicaid expansion and the state health exchange

Take part in the latest poll from The Daily Courier.


Oct. 18, 2012 @ 12:21 PM

Poll: What do you think about the new Daily Courier website

Take part in our poll that asks about the new Daily Courier website.