Opinion View All »

Mar. 06, 2015 @ 10:07 AM

EDITORIAL: Planning is an attainable goal

Rutherford County Commissioners are beginning an arduous task today as they begin the goal setting process for 2015. Meeting at 4:30 p.m. at the county annex, commissioners will start talks today and could reconvene Saturday morning to continue.


Mar. 06, 2015 @ 09:53 AM

My experience as a groomswoman

I recently experienced a wedding from a man's perspective and it was completely different. 



Opinion: Editorials View All »

Oct. 22, 2014 @ 10:19 AM

OUR VIEW: Take advantage of One-Stop voting

On Thursday, three voting locations in Rutherford County will open for one-stop voting.

Mar. 06, 2015 @ 10:07 AM

EDITORIAL: Planning is an attainable goal

Rutherford County Commissioners are beginning an arduous task today as they begin the goal setting process for 2015. Meeting at 4:30 p.m. at the county annex, commissioners will start talks today and could reconvene Saturday morning to continue.


Mar. 05, 2015 @ 08:45 AM

EDITORIAL: Striving for MS awareness and a cure

The National Multiple Sclerosis (MS) Society’s annual awareness campaign is ongoing this week through Sunday and the campaign hopes to provide opportunities for people across the country to unite, raise awareness and find new ways to help people with MS live their best lives.


Mar. 03, 2015 @ 04:24 PM

EDITORIAL: Employment outlook is good

Rutherford County's Economic Development Director Matt Blackwell delivered good news to the Board of County Commissioners Monday night.


Mar. 03, 2015 @ 08:40 AM

EDITORIAL: Applauded for economic development success

Governor Pat McCrory's office said Monday that North Carolina jumped to fourth place among all states in Site Selection magazine’s 2014 Governor’s Cup, a closely-watched ranking of economic development success.


Opinion: Columnists View All »

Mar. 06, 2015 @ 09:53 AM

My experience as a groomswoman

I recently experienced a wedding from a man's perspective and it was completely different. 


Mar. 06, 2015 @ 08:45 AM

JONES: The language of love better than lucre

I have tried to learn another language several times but would get busy or bored and quit trying. According to Brewers Dictionary of Phase and Fable, the Persians say there were three primitive languages — Arabic, Persian, and Turkish.


Mar. 05, 2015 @ 05:17 PM

Dispatches from Snow Daze 2015

Rutherford County is at last emerging from a prolonged stretch of snow days and school closures, and I for one can't wait to get outside in the sunshine.


Opinion: Letters to the Editor View All »


Feb. 24, 2015 @ 09:16 AM

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Another idea for the airport

This letter is about the Rutherford County Airport known as Marchman Field.


Feb. 18, 2015 @ 10:45 AM

LETTER TO THE EDITOR: Harris class memorabilia available

My mother Martha Franklin Dudley taught Bible in the Harris High School in 1947-1949 and another few schools in the area, possibly Cliffside. I lost my mother two weeks ago at the age of 95.


Polls View All »

Feb. 14, 2013 @ 08:00 PM

Poll: Medicaid expansion and the state health exchange

Take part in the latest poll from The Daily Courier.


Oct. 18, 2012 @ 12:21 PM

Poll: What do you think about the new Daily Courier website

Take part in our poll that asks about the new Daily Courier website.