Opinion View All »

Oct. 30, 2014 @ 10:15 AM

Are we recovering?

Across the country it seems gains in the job market and cheaper gas has led to a seven-year high in consumer confidence.


Oct. 30, 2014 @ 10:01 AM

MULLIGER: Thank you for helping us finish the fight

Tuesday evening was a special night for many people including cancer survivors, caregivers, team members, event organizers, supporters and everyone else involved in the success of this year's Relay For Life of Rutherford County — nearly $160,000 worth of success.


Oct. 30, 2014 @ 09:28 AM

HOOD:Economy isn’t stuck in limbo

Which picture of North Carolina’s recent past is more accurate? I’ll call the two alternatives Tar Heel Limbo and Tar Heel Heaven. (And, no, I’m not referring to the fake-class scandal at UNC-Chapel Hill. That’s clearly Tar Heel Hell.)


Opinion: Editorials View All »

Oct. 22, 2014 @ 10:19 AM

OUR VIEW: Take advantage of One-Stop voting

On Thursday, three voting locations in Rutherford County will open for one-stop voting.

Oct. 30, 2014 @ 10:15 AM

Are we recovering?

Across the country it seems gains in the job market and cheaper gas has led to a seven-year high in consumer confidence.


Oct. 29, 2014 @ 10:01 AM

OUR VIEW: Fun is good, safe is more important

In just a few days, the youth of Rutherford County will have their best costumes on looking for all kinds of goodies.


Oct. 28, 2014 @ 09:02 AM

OUR VIEW: Is it over yet?

Not to be confused with the cries of children in the backseat of a vehicle on a long road trip, we are ready for it to be over.


Oct. 24, 2014 @ 09:42 AM

OUR VIEW: Encouraging numbers on first day

Thursday was the start of a shortened early voting period across North Carolina.


Opinion: Columnists View All »

Oct. 30, 2014 @ 10:01 AM

MULLIGER: Thank you for helping us finish the fight

Tuesday evening was a special night for many people including cancer survivors, caregivers, team members, event organizers, supporters and everyone else involved in the success of this year's Relay For Life of Rutherford County — nearly $160,000 worth of success.


Oct. 30, 2014 @ 09:28 AM

HOOD:Economy isn’t stuck in limbo

Which picture of North Carolina’s recent past is more accurate? I’ll call the two alternatives Tar Heel Limbo and Tar Heel Heaven. (And, no, I’m not referring to the fake-class scandal at UNC-Chapel Hill. That’s clearly Tar Heel Hell.)


Oct. 29, 2014 @ 10:06 AM

JOHNSON:The last gunslingers

While browsing through YouTube videos, an activity that, admittedly, takes up too much of my time, I began looking at old MMA (mixed martial arts) fights. These contests weren't even two decades old yet the difference between how much the fighters have grown, both athletically and skill wise, over the years was interesting to see.


Opinion: Letters to the Editor View All »

Oct. 30, 2014 @ 09:20 AM

Council needs to address citizens


Oct. 26, 2014 @ 07:28 PM

LETTER: Selling Breaking Bad dolls abhorrent

As a community organization fighting addiction, we want to express our concern at the recent decision of Toys R’ Us and Walmart to market and sell action figures from the television show Breaking Bad.


Oct. 26, 2014 @ 04:27 PM

LETTER: Animal groups do work together

This is in response to your editorial, "Everyone needs to be on the same page for the animals.” 


Polls View All »

Feb. 14, 2013 @ 08:00 PM

Poll: Medicaid expansion and the state health exchange

Take part in the latest poll from The Daily Courier.


Oct. 18, 2012 @ 12:21 PM

Poll: What do you think about the new Daily Courier website

Take part in our poll that asks about the new Daily Courier website.