Opinion View All »

Jul. 31, 2015 @ 09:07 AM

JONES: Who said there’s no good men?

One college student said she was majoring in anthropology; is there money in that? The American Heritage College Dictionary defines it this way, “The scientific study of the origin, the behavior, and the physical, social, and cultural development of humans.” Can you even do that in four years? Seems it would depress even the strongest student to have all those answers. Besides, I’ve just spent 68 years looking in the mirror; don’t even go there. With all our discoveries and inventions, unearthings and explorations man remains a mystery. Educate us, give us a bath, put a thousand dollar suit on us and we still have problems. Give us New York, and a helicopter and we still have problems. Make us President of the United States; no, don’t do that. I still ask...who said there’s no good men?


Jul. 31, 2015 @ 08:51 AM

Need something to do in August?

I've lived in Rutherford County for a long time now and there's one phrase that is uttered more often than any other; "There's nothing to do here." 


Jul. 31, 2015 @ 08:10 AM

OUR VIEW: Bigger changes are in order for VA

The Department of Veterans Affairs is having another fiscal heart attack. That, sadly, is routine, a day in the life of the giant federal bureaucracy that can’t keep up with the health-care needs of our nation’s veterans.


Opinion: Editorials View All »

Oct. 22, 2014 @ 10:19 AM

OUR VIEW: Take advantage of One-Stop voting

On Thursday, three voting locations in Rutherford County will open for one-stop voting.

Jul. 31, 2015 @ 08:10 AM

OUR VIEW: Bigger changes are in order for VA

The Department of Veterans Affairs is having another fiscal heart attack. That, sadly, is routine, a day in the life of the giant federal bureaucracy that can’t keep up with the health-care needs of our nation’s veterans.


Jul. 30, 2015 @ 09:09 AM

OUR VIEW: McNair Educational Foundation stronger than ever

Headlines in our Wednesday newspaper and again today bring our readers updates about the highly successful and innovative Robert and Janice McNair Educational Foundation.


Jul. 29, 2015 @ 08:54 AM

OUR VIEW: Summer events bringing hundreds to area

It’s that time of year when visitors from across the country are arriving in Rutherford County for a number of summer-like sporting events.


Jul. 28, 2015 @ 08:00 AM

OUR VIEW: Public school education takes another devastating hit

For centuries every child in North Carolina had an opportunity for a public school education.


Opinion: Columnists View All »

Jul. 31, 2015 @ 09:07 AM

JONES: Who said there’s no good men?

One college student said she was majoring in anthropology; is there money in that? The American Heritage College Dictionary defines it this way, “The scientific study of the origin, the behavior, and the physical, social, and cultural development of humans.” Can you even do that in four years? Seems it would depress even the strongest student to have all those answers. Besides, I’ve just spent 68 years looking in the mirror; don’t even go there. With all our discoveries and inventions, unearthings and explorations man remains a mystery. Educate us, give us a bath, put a thousand dollar suit on us and we still have problems. Give us New York, and a helicopter and we still have problems. Make us President of the United States; no, don’t do that. I still ask...who said there’s no good men?


Jul. 31, 2015 @ 08:51 AM

Need something to do in August?

I've lived in Rutherford County for a long time now and there's one phrase that is uttered more often than any other; "There's nothing to do here." 


Jul. 30, 2015 @ 09:15 AM

Do our faces determine our fates?

Living in a visual world where first impressions carry much weight, our facial expressions have a large effect on the people around us. Our faces can lead to assumptions about our character and how nice or trusting we are.

In a recent article published on NPR's website, a study suggests a person's face could determine his or her fate in court.


Opinion: Letters to the Editor View All »

Jul. 30, 2015 @ 08:07 AM

LETTER: Army veteran expresses thanks

To the editor: While eating dinner at a local restaurant recently I had finished my meal and asked the waitress for my check.


Jul. 14, 2015 @ 09:46 AM

LETTER: Town Council take note

To the editor: We attended the festivities Saturday night at the Tryon International Equestrian Center and it was just an amazing family night out. To have this available for the Polk and Rutherford county residents is just fantastic. I am writing with the hopes that the Town Council of Rutherfordton takes notice as this is a golden opportunity for the town to finally move ahead.


Jul. 10, 2015 @ 08:46 AM

LETTER: Glad Trump is a candidate

In regard to Pam Bunch’s column, “ I could talk about the weather… Wed. July 8, 2015,”


Polls View All »

Feb. 14, 2013 @ 08:00 PM

Poll: Medicaid expansion and the state health exchange

Take part in the latest poll from The Daily Courier.


Oct. 18, 2012 @ 12:21 PM

Poll: What do you think about the new Daily Courier website

Take part in our poll that asks about the new Daily Courier website.