Opinion View All »

May. 26, 2015 @ 08:20 AM

JOHNSON: What a lovely day!

I love movies. I don't know if that's something I've communicated before, but it's true. That being said, I hardly ever go to the theater. In fact, it's been years since I've last been. Remember the first "Avengers" movie? The one that was released in 2012? Yeah, that was the last flick I've bought a ticket for.


May. 22, 2015 @ 08:22 AM

OUR VIEW: Data cards highlight health successes, challenges

Editor’s note: Laila Bell, director of research and data at NC Child released this report Thursday afternoon from Raleigh with challenging health concerns for children and mother in Rutherford County. She says the challenges facing newborns and mothers is avoidable. We agree and challenge our leaders on the local and state level is heed the recommendations to improve the situation.


May. 22, 2015 @ 08:20 AM

JONES: Customizing children is crazy

Just when I thought things couldn’t get any worse, I was again proven wrong. The genetic engineering bunch has gone too far; gene mutation to potentially produce a “designer baby”. I can’t help but wonder, which features in your child would you want altered? What family wants to stand on the maternity ward, staring at the new arrival, and not be able to say ”he has his father’s nose”?


Opinion: Editorials View All »

Oct. 22, 2014 @ 10:19 AM

OUR VIEW: Take advantage of One-Stop voting

On Thursday, three voting locations in Rutherford County will open for one-stop voting.

May. 24, 2015 @ 08:14 AM

Cheers and Jeers

Editorial Cheers and Jeers


May. 22, 2015 @ 08:22 AM

OUR VIEW: Data cards highlight health successes, challenges

Editor’s note: Laila Bell, director of research and data at NC Child released this report Thursday afternoon from Raleigh with challenging health concerns for children and mother in Rutherford County. She says the challenges facing newborns and mothers is avoidable. We agree and challenge our leaders on the local and state level is heed the recommendations to improve the situation.


May. 21, 2015 @ 07:37 AM

OUR VIEW: New training for officers responding to mental health issues

The news is welcomed that 15 people graduated from the first-ever Crisis Intervention Team (CIT) training program held in Rutherford County. A magistrate, a detention center administrator and 13 officers from law enforcement agencies completed the training as they were taught about responding to mental health crisis situations.


May. 20, 2015 @ 08:04 AM

OUR VIEW: No place for politics in education

House Bill 110 that will change the way Rutherford County voters elect Board of Education members is moving closer to law. If it passes, school board elections will become partisan. Not since 1976 has the election been partisan.


Opinion: Columnists View All »

May. 26, 2015 @ 08:20 AM

JOHNSON: What a lovely day!

I love movies. I don't know if that's something I've communicated before, but it's true. That being said, I hardly ever go to the theater. In fact, it's been years since I've last been. Remember the first "Avengers" movie? The one that was released in 2012? Yeah, that was the last flick I've bought a ticket for.


May. 24, 2015 @ 08:11 AM

McCrory is the last hope for North Carolina's whistle blowers

Ask yourself: do we live in an age where we need more undercover investigations of wrongdoing or less?


May. 24, 2015 @ 07:33 AM

Memorial Day is remembering those who gave

This weekend American flags are flying on government buildings, in cemeteries and at our homes.Tomorrow is Memorial Day and its more than a day off work, more than the unofficial kick-off to summer, barbecues and pool parties.


Opinion: Letters to the Editor View All »

May. 21, 2015 @ 08:40 AM

LETTER: Children need to get outdoors

To the editor: While reading the latest National Wildlife magazine, I was saddened and stunned to learn that our children need to be outside more often. According to the American Academy of Pediatrics, today’s kids are spending an average of seven hours a day, nearly 50 hours a week, watching TV, using computers, video games and other electric media.


May. 20, 2015 @ 08:02 AM

LETTER: Community pride alive in Union Mills

To the editor: In response to “Where is the Community Pride? “ letter published recently, community pride is alive and well in Union Mills.


May. 14, 2015 @ 08:30 AM

LETTER: E-cigarettes threat to youth

To the editor: As Health Director for the Rutherford, Polk, McDowell District Health Department, I take my role seriously when it comes to emerging threats to the health of our young folks here in Rutherford County. The popularity of E-cigarettes and vapor products poses such a community health threat.


Polls View All »

Feb. 14, 2013 @ 08:00 PM

Poll: Medicaid expansion and the state health exchange

Take part in the latest poll from The Daily Courier.


Oct. 18, 2012 @ 12:21 PM

Poll: What do you think about the new Daily Courier website

Take part in our poll that asks about the new Daily Courier website.