Opinion View All »

Jul. 22, 2014 @ 10:45 AM

CLARK: Back with lots of stories to tell

Since I returned to Forest City last week I have had some ask me about my vacation.


Jul. 22, 2014 @ 10:11 AM

CAMPBELL: Dog tired and barking

They call this time of year the “dog days” of summer, long days filled with heat and humidity. When our legislature is still in session lawmakers get dog-tired, resulting in a lot of barking due to short tempers.


Jul. 22, 2014 @ 08:13 AM

OUR VIEW: A better use of money

As part of the 2014-15 budget approval, Rutherford County Commissioners also gave the go-ahead to use $650,000 of general fund balance to develop the Gateway West property — otherwise known as Daniel Road off U.S. 74A in Spindale.


Opinion: Editorials View All »

Jul. 22, 2014 @ 08:13 AM

OUR VIEW: A better use of money

As part of the 2014-15 budget approval, Rutherford County Commissioners also gave the go-ahead to use $650,000 of general fund balance to develop the Gateway West property — otherwise known as Daniel Road off U.S. 74A in Spindale.

Jul. 20, 2014 @ 07:48 AM

OUR VIEW: Cheers and Jeers

Cheers … to the Rutherford County Schools administrators, students, faculty and staff at Forest City Dunbar Elementary School at the initiation of their flex calendar schedule.


Jul. 18, 2014 @ 04:38 AM

Budget is risky but last resort

The county’s adaptation of its 2014-15 budget based on a large appropriation from its fund balance to pay for recurring expenses is risky business.


Jul. 17, 2014 @ 04:32 AM

Insured or not insured?

With all the political wrangling out of Raleigh these days, we have struggled to find some kind of a bright spot from the General Assembly.

Now, we may have it.


Jul. 16, 2014 @ 04:48 AM

Lack of communication hurting state

It seems, regardless of political affiliation, the North Carolina House and Senate can’t sit down and have a conversation.

Over the last few weeks, negotiations on the state budget have stalled with neither side willing to budge, or even talk to the other.


Opinion: Columnists View All »

Jul. 22, 2014 @ 10:45 AM

CLARK: Back with lots of stories to tell

Since I returned to Forest City last week I have had some ask me about my vacation.


Jul. 22, 2014 @ 10:11 AM

CAMPBELL: Dog tired and barking

They call this time of year the “dog days” of summer, long days filled with heat and humidity. When our legislature is still in session lawmakers get dog-tired, resulting in a lot of barking due to short tempers.


Jul. 20, 2014 @ 10:52 AM

MCKOOL: The truth about quality supplements

Last week we started talking about the truth about supplements, and that rule No. 1 is: There is no magic pill.


Opinion: Letters to the Editor View All »

Jul. 20, 2014 @ 11:54 AM

LETTER: Thanks for the help

The members of American Legion Post 423 would like to thank everyone who donated items for the patients of the VA hospital in Asheville.


Jul. 20, 2014 @ 10:54 AM

LETTER: Needs for animals

Recently, The Courier printed a well-written editorial concerning the present animal shelter for Rutherford County and its needs. Over the years, I have rescued several animals from there and have been well-pleased.


Jul. 10, 2014 @ 09:38 AM

LETTER: Stricter control over animal ownership

Dear Editor:

I can certainly empathize with Lt. Godlock's comments in the front page article from July 4, 2014. People need to stop with the animal over-population.


Polls View All »

Feb. 14, 2013 @ 08:00 PM

Poll: Medicaid expansion and the state health exchange

Take part in the latest poll from The Daily Courier.


Oct. 18, 2012 @ 12:21 PM

Poll: What do you think about the new Daily Courier website

Take part in our poll that asks about the new Daily Courier website.