Tillis makes chair appointments

Dec. 18, 2012 @ 08:32 AM

RALEIGH — Ahead of the opening of the 2013 General Assembly session, North Carolina House Speaker Thom Tillis announced major House committee chair positions.

On Monday, Tillis re-appointed Rep. Tim Moore, R-Cleveland, to serve as the Chairman of the House Committee on Rules, Calendar and Operations of the House. In the position, Moore will oversee the schedule and flow of legislation as well as interpreting rules of the House. Moore was recently re-elected to his sixth term in the House.

Tillis also announced his appointments to lead the House Appropriations Committee. Rep. Nelson Dollar, R-Wake, who served as an Appropriations chair last session, will serve as Senior Appropriations Chair during the 2013-2014 biennium. 

The remaining chairmen of the House Appropriations Committee will be Rep. Mitch Gillespie, R-McDowell, Rep. Linda Johnson (R-Cabarrus), Rep. Bryan Holloway, R-Stokes, and Rep. Justin Burr, R-Stanly. Gillespie and Johnson are continuing their roles on the committee from 2011-2012. During the last session, Holloway and Burr chaired the Appropriations subcommittees on Education and Health & Human Services, respectively.

The House Finance Committee will once again be led by Rep. Julia Howard, R-Davie, as Senior Chair, reprising her leadership role from the 2011-2012 session. 

Other chairmen of the Finance committee will be Rep. Mitchell Setzer, R-Catawba, Rep. David Lewis, R-Harnett, and Rep. Robert Brawley, R-Iredell.

“The leaders of the major House committees will work hard to protect the interests of their constituents and all North Carolinians,” Tillis said, in a statement. “I am eager to work with them this session to make North Carolina a better place to live, work, and raise a family.”

On Saturday, the House Republican Caucus elected its leadership for the 2013 General Assembly session.

Rep. Mike Hager, R-Rutherfordton, was elected to the fifth-highest leadership position in the Caucus as the House Majority Whip.