Rutherford farmers eligible for drought relief

Feb. 02, 2013 @ 09:39 AM

Rutherford County farmers are eligible for disaster assistance from the  United States Department of Agriculture, reports Dianne Davis at the Rutherford County Farm Service Agency in Rutherfordton.

On January 30, Agriculture Secretary Tom Vilsack declared a natural disaster in South Carolina based on damages and losses caused by the drought that occurred from Dec. 4, 2012 to Jan. 28, 2013.

According to law, Rutherford County is among nine adjacent counties in North Carolina, named as contiguous counties where eligible family farmers may quality for FSA emergency loan assistance.

In addition to Rutherford County, the neighboring counties of Cleveland, Henderson and Polk counties are also eligible.

Farmers in Rutherford may apply for emergency loans for physical and production losses by Sept. 30.

Applications and more information can be received at the Farm Service Agency office in Rutherfordton from 7:45 a.m. until 5 p.m. Monday-Thursday and from 7:45 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. on Friday.