Isothermal Presidential search process continues

Mar. 05, 2013 @ 07:00 AM

The presidential candidate interviews are complete. Today marks  the beginning of  indepth discussions on who will be the next president at Isothermal Community College.

Meeting in closed session at 12 p.m., trustees will discuss the six finalists and their recent visits to Isothermal.

Finalists are former Lt. Governor Walter Dalton; Vice President  of Academic and Student Services and Institutional Assessment at Isothermal Community College, Dr. Kim Gold, both of Rutherfordton; Gene Couch, executive vice president at Alamance Community College in Graham; Matthew Meyer, associate vice president for STEM (Science, Technology, Engineering and Math) Innovations at the North Carolina Community College System; Mark Kinlaw, vice president for Instruction and Support Services at Robeson Community College in Lumberton Kristi Snuggs, vice president of Instruction at Edgecombe Community College in Tarboro.

During the past three weeks, Isothermal staff, trustees, search committee members and the public have attended “Meet and Greet” sessions to become more acquainted with candidates.

A new president could possibly be named later this month.

The Presidential Search Committee includes Grady Franklin, Chair — Executive Committee of Trustees, retired educator.

James Hutchins, Co-Chair —Executive Committee of Trustees, retired educator; John Condrey — Executive Committee of Trustees, Forest City Town Manager; Bobby England — Executive Committee of Trustees, retired physician, former legislator; Jackie Godlock — Executive Committee of Trustees, manager at North Carolina Vocational Rehab; Leonard Hollifield — Executive Committee of Trustees, land developer and retired business owner; Pat Morgan — Executive Committee of Trustees, retired educator; Bill Miller — superintendent of Polk County Schools; Greg Lovelace — Rutherford County Commissioner, principal of Chase High School; Ashley Day and Jo James — Isothermal staff members; Terry Hines — business and industry leader, chairman of the Rutherford EDC and the Rutherford Regional Health System boards, former Isothermal trustee, and a board director of the Isothermal Foundation; and Jackie Hampton and Carolyn Keever, retired educators and members of the Rutherford County Board of Education.