Presidential search committee named

Could make decision by end of February
Jan. 24, 2013 @ 08:03 AM

The search for a new president for Isothermal Community College has moved into the next phase.

After Dr. Myra Johnson announced her retirement from the post in November 2012, the college’s Board of Trustees initiated a broad search for candidates. The college serves Rutherford and Polk counties. The position was advertised in local, state and national publications and was publicized widely throughout the North Carolina Community College System. The application period closed two weeks ago.

Since then, a Presidential Search Committee was formed by the trustees. That committee will narrow the pool of applicants to a field of four to six candidates for the entire board to consider. The committee hopes to reach that decision by the end of this month.

After that, the names of the finalists will be made public and the remaining candidates will come to campus for interviews with the trustees along with question and answer sessions with college employees and community members. There will be the opportunity for college personnel and the public to comment on candidates in writing.

Those visits and interviews are scheduled for February. More specifics will be given after the finalists are selected and the visits are scheduled, said Mike Gavin, Isothermal’s director of Marketing and Community Relations.

The Presidential Search Committee includes the Executive Committee of the Board of Trustees, a group comprising the board’s officers and committee chairs. Also included on the PSC are several members from the community along with representatives from Isothermal’s faculty and staff.

The Presidential Search Committee includes: Grady Franklin, Chair – Executive Committee of Trustees, retired educator;  James Hutchins, Co-Chair – Executive Committee of Trustees, retired educator; John Condrey – Executive Committee of Trustees, Forest City Town Manager;  Bobby England – Executive Committee of Trustees, retired physician, former legislator; Jackie Godlock – Executive Committee of Trustees, manager at North Carolina Vocational Rehab;   Leonard Hollifield – Executive Committee of Trustees, land developer and retired business owner; Pat Morgan – Executive Committee of Trustees, retired educator;  Bill Miller – superintendent of Polk County Schools;   Greg Lovelace – Rutherford County Commissioner, principal of Chase High School;   Ashley Day – Isothermal faculty member; Jo James – Isothermal staff member;   Terry Hines – business and industry leader, chairman of the Rutherford EDC and the Rutherford Regional Health System boards, former Isothermal trustee, and a board director of the Isothermal Foundation;   Jackie Hampton – Rutherford County Board of Education member, retired educator;  Carolyn Keever – Rutherford County Board of Education member, retired educator.

Inquiries about the search process may be directed to