Isothermal names outstanding students for Spring 2013

May. 15, 2013 @ 06:15 AM

Isothermal Community College officials recently gave special recognition to a dozen students.

The Spring 2013 Learning College Student of the Semester Awards were presented during two ceremonies in the Old Tryon Room of the Isothermal Library. The ceremonies were held at noon and 5:30 p.m.

This semester’s award winners are Amanda Jolley, adult high school; Crystal McCoy, academic development; Mara Jennings, arts and sciences; Hayley Bedford, applied sciences; Patricia Wangerien, business sciences; Matthew Melton, associate degree nursing; Chris Doty, practical nursing education; Kecia Long, adult high school; Aaron Smith, academic development; Hannah Scruggs, arts and sciences; Tammy Ellenburg, applied sciences and Allison Mechin business sciences. 

The students, friends and families were welcomed to the ceremonies by Walter Dalton, president of Isothermal Community College. The awards were presented by Dr. Kim Gold, vice president of Academic and Student Services and Institutional Assessment, and Thad Harrill, vice president of Community and Workforce Education and Institutional Advancement.

Each student was nominated by one or several of their instructors.