Rotary presents Paul Harris Fellows, other awards

Annual meeting Tuesday night
Jul. 04, 2013 @ 06:10 AM

Seven members of the Rotary Club of Rutherford County received Paul Harris Fellows recognition and medals Tuesday night during the annual awards meeting held in Rutherfordton.

The newest Fellows are Andrea Bennett, Mary Shafer, Kent Teague, Nichole Dubs, Rachel Mazur and Shirley Shehan. Shehan, outgoing Rotary president, and Ronnie Thompson, District Governor 7670 in Morganton, congratulated the new members and presented gold medallions. They will also receive certificates naming them Paul Fellows.To received the recognition a Rotarian must have contributed more than $1,000 to Rotary Foundation. All members of the Rutherford club are Paul Harris Fellows.

Thompson said district Rotarians raised enough money to purchase 3,380 wheelchairs for individuals across the country and world.

Shehan congratulated fellow members for jobs well done last year. The membership has doubled in two years from 10 members to 21 members. The club also put a new roof on Noah's House.  

Rotarians members participated in presenting books to public school children and the backpack program.

Awards were presented to  Sheila Shehan, named Rotarian of the Year Award, and Billy Honeycutt received the Ernie Ross Service Award.

Sheila was thanked for coordinating the Noah's House roofing project. 

Honeycutt,the former Director of Green River Baptist Resource Center and former pastor of Mountain Baptist Church Church, was recognized for his service to the county through Rutherford Housing Partnership, where he serves as board president. He was also recognized as Bossman Billy" who taught the Rutherford Women Roofers how to roof houses.

Following the awards presentation, new officers were installed by District Governor Thompson.

James Segers is the club's new president and new directors are John Roberts and Rodney Greene.