TJCA announces AP scholars

Sep. 08, 2013 @ 05:49 AM

Thirty students at Thomas Jefferson Classical Academy (TJCA-CFA) have earned the designation of AP Scholar by the College Board this past school year in recognition of their exceptional achievement on the college-level Advanced Placement Program (AP) Exams.  

The College Board’s Advanced Placement Program offers students the opportunity to take challenging college-level courses while still in high school, and to receive college credit, advanced placement or both for successful performance on the AP Exams. Students took AP Exams in May 2013 after completing the courses. The College Board recognizes several levels of achievement based on student’s performance on AP Exams.

One student achieved the highest national recognition as a National AP Honors. Darby Williams, a freshman at Davidson College, received an average score of 4 or higher on all AP exams taken, and scores of 4 or higher on eight or more AP exams.   

Five students qualified for the AP Scholar with Distinction Award by earning an average grade of at least 3.50 on all AP Exams taken, and grades of 3 or higher on five or more of these exams. These students are: Kira Jordan of Rutherfordton, Jerishma Patel of Shelby, Benjamin Schaefer of Shelby, Timothy Turner of Shelby, and Darby Williams of Rutherfordton.

Six students qualified for the AP Scholar with Honor Award by earning an average of 3.25 or higher and completing four or more AP Examinations with grades of 3 or higher. These students are: Eleora Albala of Rutherfordton, Philip Barker of Shelby, Mitchell Harbin of Forest City, Stephen Maimone of Rutherfordton, Joseph Pate of Shelby, and Rachael Tevis of Rutherfordton.

Nineteen students qualified for the AP Scholar Award by completing three or more AP Examinations, with grades of 3 or higher. These AP Scholars are:  Victoria Bennett of Forest City,  Vincent Boudreau of Shelby, Joseph Bradshaw of Union Mills, Cody Carter of Shelby, Janice Dilgert of Rutherfordton, Lauren Dixon of Shelby, Kathryn Duren of Shelby, Wendy Harmon of Rutherfordton, Leah Lineberry of Forest City, Caroline Longerbeam of Ellenboro, McKinnon Martin of Rutherfordton, Andrew Murphy of Bostic, Josiah Parke of Rutherfordton, Keaton Poole of Spindale, Hannah Saucier of Rutherfordton, Ronald Smith of Shelby, David Snyder of Shelby, Caleb Sundell of Shelby, and Jacob Wells of Rutherfordton.