Early voting starts Thursday at Board of Elections

May 6 primary
Apr. 22, 2014 @ 04:43 AM

Early voting begins Thursday at the Rutherford County Board of Elections for the May 6 Primary Election.

Voting continues through Saturday May 3, however, there will not be voting on Saturday, April 26 or Sunday, April 27. 

Week day hours are 8:30 a.m. to 5 p.m. and Saturday, May 3 voting is from 8:30 a.m. to 1 p.m.

At the Rutherford County Annex, 289 North Main Street in Rutherfordton, early voting starts Monday, April 28 through Friday, May 2 from 10 a.m. to 6 p.m. Hours for voting on Saturday, May 3 are 8:30 a.m. to 1 p.m.

All absentee ballots voted off site must be received by the Board of Elections office by 5 p.m. May 6.

Primary elections voters will cast ballots for candidates who will be running for office in the General Election on Nov. 4. 

The Clerk of Court race is the most highly contested race with five Republicans and four Democrats seeking the office.

Republican candidates seeking their party's nomination for Clerk of Court are Tara Harrison Toney, Steve H. Owens, Keith Greene, Amanda Davis and Tammy Clements Aldridge.

Democrats seeking the nomination are Bob Ward, Jerry Wease, Danita Bailey Sartin and Madeane Bradley Hodge.

The primary race for Rutherford County Sheriff has five candidates. Republicans will vote for incumbent Chris Francis or Daniel J. Good. 

Democrats seeking the nod are Jason Wease, Don R. Huckabee and Jack L. Conner.

There is one contest in the race for Rutherford County Commissioner. Republican incumbent Julius Owens and Alan Toney are seeking the District 5 seat.

Other primary elections will be for U.S. Senate.

Democrats seeking the nomination are incumbent Kay Hagan, Will Stewart and Ernest T. Reeves. 

Republicans looking to become the party's nominee are Thom Tills, Jim Snyder, Edward Kryn, Mark Harris, Heather Grant, Alex Lee Bradshaw, Greg Brannon and Ted Alexander.

In the race for U.S. House of Representatives, Republicans will choose between incumbent Patrick McHenry and Richard Lynch.

Libertarians will choose between Sean Haugh and Tim D'Annunzio for the US Senate Seat.

In the non-partisan race for N.C. Supreme Court Associate Justice are candidates Eric Levinson, Robin Hudson and Jenatte Doran. Voters will select one candidate to seek office in November.

There are 17,306 Democrats, 14,778 Republicans, 11,317 registered unaffiliated voters and 131 Libertarians in Rutherford County.

When the unaffiliated voters go to the polls, they will choose either a Libertarian or non-partisan ballot.

For more information call 287-6030.