Rutherfordton wins book challenge

Apr. 09, 2014 @ 05:05 AM

Rutherfordton Elementary School took home first place in the Rutherford County Schools (RCS) Elementary Book Challenge on Tuesday.

The annual competition was held at Mt. Vernon Ruth Elementary School and teams from all 10 RCS elementary schools participated.

Rutherfordton came in first with 115 points, Forrest Hunt Elementary School placed second with 112 points and Harris Elementary School came in third with 105 points.

"We are very proud of our team," Amy McLaughlin, one of the coaches of Rutherfordton, said. "They've worked hard for months."

The book challenge is an annual event designed to increase student appreciation of literature and enthusiasm for reading. The students were given a list of 14 books to read and study. The questions for the challenge involved details and characters and the students were required to answer with the title of the book and name of the author. Book selections for each competition represent a variety of genres and are recognized as outstanding literary works for young readers.

"This is my favorite day of the year," Michelle Clement, AIG Coordinator and moderator for the competition, said. "It's great when you see so many kids who have worked so hard and read so many books."

After the competition the fifth and fourth place teams received ribbons while the top three teams received medals. Rutherfordton also received bookbags that said "Elementary Book Challenge Champions" full of snacks provided by Moose Vending in Forest City.

"It's wonderful that we promote this in our schools and have kids that still love reading," Clement said. "We also had more perfect rounds this year than ever before. I love seeing the students and how enthusiastic they are about reading."

Members of the Rutherfordton team are Onna-Leah Perez, Ayden Hawkin, Christina Thomas, Payton Marshall, Damian Baynard, Ana Narvaez and Aiden Davis. The coaches are Amy McLaughlin and Suzanne Waldrop.

Forrest Hunt team members are Chelsey Davis, Layla Payne, Briana Barnes, Kaynyn Dewberry, Hunter Hutchins, Christian Putnam, Brynna Glover, Sophie Marlow, Taylan Roach, E'marion McKinney, Jada Mosley, Bryson Roland and Diego Romero-Rojas. Coaches are Karen Glover, Laura Thompson and Hope Hill.

Harris team members are Jacie Blackard, Daniel Bailey, Lindsey Hodge, Malea Hunter, Kaleb Crowe, Justin Pinkerton, Jordan Prairie, Noah Ezell, Awyn Richardson, Gracie Vess and Kyleigh Green. The coach is Terri Toney.