Storehouse Pantry co-founders receive Duke Energy citizenship award

presented at Chamber of Commerce annual meeting
Jul. 23, 2013 @ 05:04 AM

The co-founder of The Storehouse Pantry received the Duke Energy Citizenship and Service Award Friday night during the annual meeting of the Rutherford County Chamber of Commerce.

Pat Evans received the award from Duke Energy District Manager Craig Debrew, who thanked her for her contributions to Rutherford County. 

The award was also presented to her husband Junior Evans, who passed away earlier this year.

The Storehouse Pantry was begun by the couple in 2011 when they saw a need to form the pantry. Their mission statement, "feed the hungry" remains today as dozens of volunteers help Evans with the food distribution program every Tuesday and Thursday from the facility in the Tri-City Mall. They, along with Communities in Schools, began the Backpack program in the Rutherford County Schools.

Evans said the program is a success because of the network of dedicated volunteers.

The Duke Energy Citizenship Award recognizes and rewards leadership and involvement in volunteerism and community service and encourages a culture of citizenship and service in the communities.

The citizenship award is a tribute to the individuals or groups who make a difference in their communities or places of work by using their time, talents and compassion to positively impact the lives of others.

Also Friday night, Chamber President T. Cooper Flack passed the gavel to Jason Harrill.

Flack thanked everyone for their efforts during the past year in helping the chamber have one of its most successful years.

More than 100 ribbon cuttings were held for chamber member businesses, the chamber sponsored business planning workshop; co-sponsored Health care reform seminars, continued working with the Economic Development Commission, Region C workforce development; revamped the chamber website and also distributed $2,000 to nonprofits that serve Rutherford County, including Family Resources of Rutherford County, PATH Shelter, Rutherford Housing Partnership, The Grace of God Rescue Mission and Youth Empowerment.

Chamber board members are Laura Allen, Fran Anderson, Walter Dalton, Nichole Dubs, Dale Hamilton, Joe Maimone, Debbie Martin, Dr. Janet Mason, Tim Mathis, Deborah Mauney, Donna McCann, Sarah Merrison-McEntire, Everette Murray.

Retiring directors are Gene Booth, Dolores Mayo and Kim Corbett.

In addition to Harrill, other officers of the chamber are Barbara Keever, first vice president, Dan Thomas, secretary/treasurer; Cooper Flack, past president and Jim Bishop, vice president.