Absentee ballots heading for the mailboxes

Political forums begin Oct. 7
Sep. 29, 2013 @ 10:16 AM

As political forums have been scheduled for municipal candidates seeking election on Nov. 5, absentee ballots for the Nov. 5 election will be put in the mail beginning Friday, Oct. 4.

The Rutherford County Board of Elections will mail ballots up to Oct. 29 at 5 p.m. for those requesting a ballot. All voted absentee ballots must be received in the Board of Elections office by 5 p.m. on Nov. 4.

The last day to register to vote at the polls on Election Day will be Oct. 11 at 5 p.m. 

Early Voting begins on Oct. 17 and ends Nov. 2.


Chambers of Commerce plans forums


The Rutherford County Chamber of Commerce and Hickory Nut Gorge Chamber of Commerce are sponsoring political forums for candidates seeking election on Nov. 5.

All forums begin at 7 p.m. with the exception of Chimney Rock Village that begins at 6 p.m.

Spindale candidates: Oct. 7, Spindale House;

Rutherfordton: Oct. 8 Rutherfordton Elementary School

Ellenboro: Oct. 15 Ellenboro Elementary School

Chimney Rock Village: Oct. 21, Lake Lure Town Hall

Lake Lure: Oct. 21  Lake Lure Town Hall

The combined chambers are co-hosting Chimney Rock Village and Lake Lure.

No forums are scheduled for Bostic, Forest City or Ruth since all candidates are running unopposed.


Candidates seeking office 


Bostic: All candidates running unopposed

Mayor — Mitch Harrill; Commissioner, Rodger Hall, Michael Hollifield, Billy Lattimore

Chimney Rock Village:

Councilman: Bruce Godzik, Penny Keys, April Sottile

Ellenboro: Alderman: Lee Allen, Allan "Bunt" Black, Michael G. Jennings, Kimberly D. Lawson, Mike Rhyne. 

Forest City: All candidates running unopposed

Mayor:Dennis Tarlton; Commissioners Steve Holland, Shawn Moore

Lake Lure:

Mayor Bob Keith; Commissioner: Mary Ann Dotson-Silvey, John W. Moore,Derek Papesh, Stephen M. Webber

Ruth: All candidates unopposed

Mayor: Don Baynard; Commissioners Chris Atkins, Mike Ellenburg 

Chris Adkins

Rutherfordon: Mayor Jimmy Dancy (unopposed); Councilman Gayle Clayton, Stanley Clements, Terry Cobb

Spindale: Mayor Mickey Bland (unopposed)Commissioner: Robin Ensley, Tommy Hardin, Brett A. Hooper, Ed Searcy