Blue ribbon bluegrass: Winners from the 2012 Fiddlers’ and Bluegrass Convention

Nov. 20, 2012 @ 07:17 AM

ELLENBORO — Musicians from across the region competed in the 21st Annual Fiddlers’ and Bluegrass Convention at Ellenboro School on Saturday.

A panel of expert judges ranked 16 competing acts in eight unique categories. Categories included Best Band, Banjo, Fiddle, Guitar, Bass, Dobro and Vocalist. 

The bluegrass event brought a crowd of more than 550 to the school, and members of the audience also had an opportunity to pick their favorite pickers.

Guests were handed “People’s Choice” ballots at the door and asked to cast their votes for the night's top performance. 

Results from the 21st Annual Ellenboro Fiddlers & Bluegrass Convention are listed below. Visit to read our full coverage of the event. 

People’s Choice Band   

Most Wanted Bluegrass


Best Band


 1st – The Wrecked Fretts

2nd – Most Wanted Bluegrass

3rd – Destined For Glory

4th – New Found Tradition 


Best Banjo

1st – Roger Holland

2nd – Isaac Terrel

3rd – Jaymin Goodson 

4th – Jerome Carson


Best Fiddle

1st – George Giddens

2nd – Carley Arrowood

3rd – Robert Capaldo

4th – Andrew Deaton


Best Mandolin

1st – David Heavner

2nd – Autumn Arrowood

3rd – Jeremy Carson

4th – Samuel Oakes


Best Guitar

1st – Chevy Watson

2nd – Tyler Leonard

3rd – Michael Blanton

4th – Shane Lail


Best Bass

1st – Paul Watson

2nd – Daylen Goodson

3rd – Sarah Edwards

4th – Chuck Gibson


Best Dobro

1st – Andrew Lathe

2nd – Danny Hargis


Best Vocalist

1st – Shane Lail

2nd – Carley Arrowood

3rd – Jason Carson

4th – Pam Oakes