Church News, February 09, 2013

Feb. 09, 2013 @ 12:55 AM

 

Green Hill Baptist Church stocks a clothes closet and food pantry for anyone in need of assistance. Call 828-287-2170 or 828-980-5213.
 
Food Pantry available at West Point Baptist Church, Union Road in Rutherfordton. Please call the church to set up an appointment to pick up your food. 828-287-0165
 
Saturday, February 9
Heart to Heart Gala: Cobb Family Life Center at Green Creek Missionary Baptist Church; at 6 p.m.; formal attire; an enchanted evening with a purpose.
 
Sunday, February 10
The Piney Ridge C.M.E. Church Board of Christian Education will present a dramatization of the History of the Christian Methodist Episcopal Church at 3 p.m.
 
Singing; Servants Call at Faith Temple Worship Center, 151 Kentucky St, Spindale at 11 a.m.
 
Monday, February 11
Toastmasters will meet at 7:30 a.m. at St Francis Episcopal Church.
 
Tuesday, February 12
Shrove Tuesday Pancake Supper; 5:30 to 7:30 p.m. at St. Francis Episcopal Church Parish House; adults $5, Child $3, under 6 free.
 
Wednesday, February 13
Lenten Service: 12 noon at Rutherfordton Presbyterian; speaker Darwin Little
 
Ash Wednesday Worship: at 6:30 p.m.; First United Methodist Church, 264 North Main Street, Rutherfordton. Plan to attend this prayerful service of scripture, music, message and the imposition of ashes as we begin our Lenten journey.
 
Thursday, February 14
New Beginning Soup Kitchen: Green River Baptist Association; every Thursday; 4:30 to 6 p.m.
 
Friday, February 15 
Chicken Pie Supper at Salem United Methodist Church, Bostic from 4:30-8 p.m.  Adults $8, children 5-12 $5, under 5 free. Take-out available (245-8518). Proceeds to benefit Salem ministries.
 
Saturday, February 16
A "Sweetheart" of A Fish Fry & Bake Sale: Fellowship hall of St. Luke CME; from 11:30 a.m. - 3:30. Plates and sandwiches will be available. 
 
Sunday, February 17
Pastor Eddie Johnson, Jr. from People's Temple in Rutherfordton will be at Angel Divine Faith Church in Rutherfordton at 3 p.m. 
 
Special Service: New Life Christian Fellowship Church of God, Spindale at 3 p.m.; featuring Rev. Timothy Brown.
 
Black History Month: New Forest Chapel; 3:30 p.m.; speaker Dean Johnny Smith from ICC on "Freeing The Mind."
 
Third Sunday Night Singing: Sand Level Baptist Church; 6 p.m.; featuring The Blairs from Nebo.
 
Old Timers Day Play: Zion Hill Faith Temple at 3 p.m.; wear old timey church clothes and enjoy an old timey dinner from 1 until 2:30. Plates $7 - cornbread, pintos, slaw, chicken or chitterlings, dessert.
 
Gospel Singing: Piney Knob Baptist Church at 6 p.m.; featuring The Royal Quartet,
 
Wednesday, February 20  
Lenten Service: 12 noon at First United Methodist; speaker Tim Marsh
 
Thursday, February 21
New Beginning Soup Kitchen: Green River Baptist Association; every Thursday; 4:30 to 6 p.m.
 
Fourth Sunday Singing: Harris Baptist Church at 2 p.m.; featuring The Hopper Family.
 
Wednesday, February 27  
Lenten Service: 12 noon at Second Baptist; speaker Don Ledbetter
 
Thursday, February 28
New Beginning Soup Kitchen: Green River Baptist Association; every Thursday; 4:30 to 6 p.m.
 
Sunday, March 3
Gospel Singing: Riverside Baptist Church in Harris featuring Soul Vision
 
Wednesday, March 6  
Lenten Service: 12 noon at St. John’s AME Zion; speaker Jim Curl
 
Wednesday, March 13  
Lenten Service: 12 noon at First Baptist; speaker Jack Knoespel
 
Wednesday, March 20  
Lenten Service: 12 noon at St. Gabriel’s Episcopal; speaker Keith Stephenson
 
Wednesday, March 27  
Lenten Service: 12 noon at St. Francis Episcopal; speaker Larry Gregg
 
Sunday, April 7
Gospel Singing: Riverside Baptist Church in Harris featuring The Brothers and Sisters
 
Sunday, May 5
Gospel Singing: Riverside Baptist Church in Harris featuring Soldiers For The Cross
 
Sunday, June 2
Gospel Singing: Riverside Baptist Church in Harris featuring Soul Harvest
 
Sunday, July 7
Gospel Singing: Riverside Baptist Church in Harris featuring Purpose
 
Sunday, August 4
Gospel Singing: Riverside Baptist Church in Harris featuring Living By Faith
 
Sunday, September 1
Gospel Singing: Riverside Baptist Church in Harris featuring Higher Ground
 
Sunday, October 6
Gospel Singing: Riverside Baptist Church in Harris featuring the Lamberts
 
Sunday, November 3
Gospel Singing: Riverside Baptist Church in Harris featuring His Glory Gospel Quartet
 
Sunday, December 8
Gospel Singing: Riverside Baptist Church in Harris featuring Truly Blessed